1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Is there a way or Mod where i can see my generated map?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Hakuoh, Apr 5, 2014.

  1. Hakuoh

    Hakuoh Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    115
    Hey ho in only play Continents but often i have problems with the generated maps.
    Sometimes its not even like Continents and more like Islands.
    Or sometimes there are huge inlandlakes and like no almost no room for expanding.

    I dislike it when the maps goes like that and usually stop playing after scouting a but and restart with a new Map.

    Any Ideas?
     
  2. Loucypher

    Loucypher King

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    797
    You could use the Ingame Editor. It has an option to glance at the map - if you do so, your minimap will be revealed and the fog will be cleared. If you then proceed to stop glancing, there seems to be a bug keeping the minimap revealed, so you'll have to save and reload. But it's a good way to figure out the way the map looks, and you could alter undesireable stuff (like, say, having TWO continents both hugging both poles blocking any form of circumnavigation...just edit away some ice).

    Mod name is, appropriately enough, Ingame Editor on Steam.
     
  3. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,602
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    There is an "easier" way to do this.

    Go into XML, and change the "RevealMap" tag from a technology and use it to reveal the map before Information Era so when you start a late-era game you automatically get a Reveal Map.

    Or.. you know.. you could just use Settler difficulty, choose your map and finish the rationalism tree (because you get som uch policy enough for a single tree) to get the Satelittes.
     
  4. OneRedBlock

    OneRedBlock Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Earth
    I like to generate a map with the SDK World Builder, and change it. (Replace river with coast so boats can sail them, change continent type to Europe because it looks nice, remove undesirable terrain features (huge ass deserts and jungles only)). Also, you can use the Reseed Mod, which allows you to reveal the map without editing anything.
     
  5. echolalia

    echolalia Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    Ireland
    You could also quick save at turn zero, retire from the game and look at the map on the end screen ( however this will also show the other civ's positions) then reload from the quick save
     

Share This Page