1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

K-Mod: Far Beyond the Sword

Discussion in 'Civ 4 - K-Mod: Far Beyond the Sword' started by karadoc, Jan 8, 2011.

  1. Charles555nc

    Charles555nc Prince

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    522
    I miss Karadoc impressing the whole community with his skillz and giving me something to look forward to every couple months.
     
  2. Horatius

    Horatius Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    575
    All good things come to an end.
    I wonder if removing his thread from the modpacks forum ended up being bad. I remember that thread being more active.

    Also, although it's true that his goal of making everybody play BTS with K-Mod with the exceptions of the lazy ones was an illusion (official status and dumb AI is always prefered: you don't want to be frustrated now, do you?), I'm still surprised that when I see a comment regarding K-mod in others' threads there tends to be some complaint about it.

    Its only one of the best things in this entire community.

    Whats up with your changes, Charles?
     
  3. Charles555nc

    Charles555nc Prince

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    522
    I made a change for ai leaving about 4 units per city for defense but now I have to compile the dll using a guide. Im not that good with computer code...most of the other changes are more time heavy vs hard to do, just changing xml values. So Im trying to work up the will power to follow 7 or 8 steps to compile a new dll.

    I left a link on a previous post for my list of changes. I think

    Once I complile the dll, I'll go back to playing the game and then keep making changes as I see things I dont like. I saw two armies walk past each other and then both ai's lost a city, so I changed the ai to leave more units on defense :D

    The funnest changes are that I rebalanced the civ traits and lots of unique units, regular buildings, and unique buildings- and made the ai have a higher building priority for them. So I'll see more impi from the zulu and more keshik from the mongols, musketeers from the French.

    I gave the ai slightly less starting cheats for emperor (like a free worker and a massive inflation/ civic upkeep discount) and gave them higher discounts on normal buildings and units and a couple free defenders to prevent early cheese...so the early game is slightly calmer/fairer and then more fun and explosive afterwards. Changed ALOT of tech costs around rifling...they get really werid.

    Tried to change the ai use of machine guns to be used more often for escorting, city defense, and for different purposes like pillaging. Ill have to keep an eye on that. Changed drill upgrades to provide +5% vs mounted on drill 3 (and drill 4 provides +10% vs mounted). So well trained machine guns wont lose as much to cavalry.

    One change I love is military academies, I allowed them to just be built because Im fairly convinced the ai doesnt use great generals to make them enough or correctly. The military academy costs are pretty sizeable but I gave them the highest building priority and especially in cities/civs with military flavor and production flavor.

    I will probably look into editing most of the leader personalities like Napolean who attacks even when the odds are bad and has always done badly as the AI in the games Ive played.

    Personally I stayed away from Civ5 because it looked way too dumbed down, just like the total war series, most new games are mode entirely for "casual" gamers...I like civ4, kmod level complexity and different strats for winning.

    Edit: Can someone help me with the compiling thing? Im so lost, Ill send you some paypal money if u can do it for me.
     
  4. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,819
    Location:
    israel
    hey guys,

    ive made a modmod for kmod,

    i added in many stuff that may improve the use of kmod.

    i hope karadoc will some day return to us.

    im opening a new thread here.
     
  5. Zacar

    Zacar Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    162
    Mmm.. I suddenly feel like playing Civ4 now.. coincidentally, this mod has again been silently updated exactly when I'm going to play. Adding more functionality to diplomacy is always an interesting idea, though I'm not sure if I will be using that option much. In general I feel that interaction with AIs should be more symmetric and that AI attitudes show the internal workings a bit too much (as the AIs won't see my attitude). But I digress.

    The main reason I used MMod was the possibility of having more player slots. Was there a reason why such dll isn't the default one?

    Perhaps it was a mistake from my part. I'll keep an eye on it next time.

    BTS concepts -> Apostolic palace and UN -> Apostolic palace membership and benefits
     
  6. Danwood

    Danwood Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    243
    This is the BEST christmas present conceivable. When everyone believed Karadoc would have dropped the project, he delivered this awesome patch, which feature-wise is the best of all (imho). Thank you Karadoc! :D
     
  7. Manco Capac

    Manco Capac Friday,13 June,I Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8,051
    When checking "seeing friendly units", it can through the whole list of AI's and if many civs are unfogged through espionage, that can get long to go through all the units. Adding a function to simply look the concerned AI's would be cool as in K-mod it is always important to keep an eye.
    Anyways, that proposition is ergonomic.
     
  8. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,819
    Location:
    israel
    yes!

    version 1.42!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    ty karadoc!

    i thought you left us for good :)


    ***
    about the auto ai stuff that break mods - i have removed several codes from the aiautoplay.py that indeed breaks mods :(.
    the changes youve made - you did them on the py file?
     
  9. Toys®Us

    Toys®Us Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Location:
    Shawinigan
    1,42
    Many thanks Karadoc.
    Civilization 4 is the greatest game of all time, and better with your mod.
    A great Xmas gift for everyone and the "future generations".

    :)
     
  10. Cruel

    Cruel King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    823
    Location:
    São Paulo, Brazil
    Latest version: 1.42
    Last updated: 23/Dec/2013 Cool! :cool:
     
  11. kopija

    kopija Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    What a wonderful Christmas present!
    Thank you Karadoc!
    I am glad that you are alive and kicking.
    Happy Christmas to everyone and many hours of K-Mod enjoyment in New Year!
     
  12. Charles555nc

    Charles555nc Prince

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    522
    Thank you so much Karadoc!

    Btw I saw colosseums/colosseum type buildings, Salons, and university/university type buildings dont have the "culture flavor" in the building xml. Maybe that would help the ai re a cultural win?

    Would the red cross deserve a "military flavor"?
     
  13. Horatius

    Horatius Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    575
    Awesome. Thank you very much Karadoc and:newyear:
     
  14. noto2

    noto2 Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,711
    Wow!! Karadoc has returned with an update! I've grown bored of dota2 and this is a perfect excuse to get back to some good ol' Civ
     
  15. Charles555nc

    Charles555nc Prince

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    522
    Does anyone know if the "please prepare for war with civ X" diplomacy command makes the AI make more ships and transports to be able to attack island civs or does the Ai only make more land units?
     
  16. Charles555nc

    Charles555nc Prince

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    522
    Everyone's off playing :)

    Think I ran into a bug....idk if its a new bug.

    I saw the Aztecs massing on my border, and built 7 or 8 macemen with strength promotions and the bonus vs seige units (called charge) promotion and made alot of triple city defense longbows.

    So I declared war and the ai attacked immediately. The ai skipped bombarding and sent everything in....I dont think they took promotions into account and got Wrecked, I mean just wrecked.

    Ill include "example" save and the AI will probably do the same thing the next turn from the save if anyone wants to check it out.

    ALSO I just saw the most amazing thing from Karadoc's AI: the ai switched all its cities to research in order to Finish Rifling in a desperate and successful move to match my military. I had a large espionage advantage so it was cool as heck to see how the AI's cities reacted.

    Edit 2: Cyrus and Alexander did brillant drop on Suryavarman 2 of Russia near Moscow but their armies havent moved in the two turns since I noticed them there. Attachment included.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Horatius

    Horatius Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    575
    Some leaders are more aggressive than others. The AI doesn't attack with the "real" attacking odds that we see. Its odds are modified for flavour and stuff.
    If you spot the same behaviour with Ghandi, then it might be a bug... but with the Aztecs? Really?...

    EDIT: although kmod is fantastic, its true that there are still some situations when a suicide occurs when it should not, but hey, whatever, its still miles ahead of the suiciding "vanilla" AI.
     
  18. Charles555nc

    Charles555nc Prince

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    522
    kmod/assets/xml then select BBAI_AI_Variables_GlobalDefines right click and select edit.

    I changed to the following settings for possibly less loss in ai attacks (all created by Karadock or BBAI)... maybe it will help

    <Define>
    <!-- Minimum stack strength ratio at which AI will attack enemy city it is next to, higher means less suicide. BTS default: 120 -->
    <DefineName>BBAI_ATTACK_CITY_STACK_RATIO</DefineName>
    <iDefineIntVal>130</iDefineIntVal>
    </Define>
    <Define>
    <!-- Minimum attack odds of best attacker for AI to skip bombarding a city and just attack. BBAI default: 12 -->
    <DefineName>BBAI_SKIP_BOMBARD_BEST_ATTACK_ODDS</DefineName>
    <iDefineIntVal>11</iDefineIntVal>
    </Define>
    <Define>
    <!-- Base ratio of stack strengths for AI considering skipping bombard and just attacking enemy city.
    This ratio is reduced by the AI's best attacker odds and how long it will take to bombard the city.
    Lower means AI will more readily skip bombarding. BBAI default: 300 -->
    <DefineName>BBAI_SKIP_BOMBARD_BASE_STACK_RATIO</DefineName>
    <iDefineIntVal>275</iDefineIntVal>
    </Define>
    <Define>
    <!-- Minimum stack strength ratio for AI to skip bombarding city and just attack, higher is more conservative. BBAI default: 150 -->
    <DefineName>BBAI_SKIP_BOMBARD_MIN_STACK_RATIO</DefineName>
    <iDefineIntVal>160</iDefineIntVal>
    </Define>
     
  19. Horatius

    Horatius Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    575
    I was actually thinking of iBaseAttackOddsChange and iAttackOddsChangeRand at Civ4LeaderHeadInfos.

    Yeah, what you mention has influence too.

    I would still trust Karadoc's work nevertheless, despite some situations, but its up to you. Its easy to improve one situation but screw up another, so balance changes and stuff always require a lot testing.

    Anyway, the AI will never play like a human and even a human can misjudge a stack attacking changes sometimes. In addition, if I recall correctly, the AI will always "stack attack", that is it does not stop even if it got bad luck in the first fights - but i'm not sure about this right now.

    You should understand, of course, that such XML changes do somehow influence dice rolls concerning the AI behaviour and its choices but the "thinking" and "AI evaluations" are all SDK. It all starts there. Be aware of wasting too much time...
     
  20. Charles555nc

    Charles555nc Prince

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    522
    1. I think Karadoc is a bad a55.
    2. The changes I made to the file above were less than 10% in each case. Pretty Conservative tweaking.
    3. The changes took me a couple of minutes to consider and change (sure didnt feel like wasting my time).
    4. Speaking of xml I think I got the ai to use much larger numbers of machine guns in defense of cities therefore making the ai defense more resistant to attacking seige units (and greater losses for me :( ). Doesnt seem to be glitching or anything either.
    kmod/asset/xml/units/civ4unitinfos
    right click, select edit, then find "edit" heading in the xml, click find, enter "machine_gun"
    replace <unitais> and <notunitais> with:

    1. <UnitAIs>
    <UnitAI>
    <UnitAIType>UNITAI_RESERVE</UnitAIType>
    <bUnitAI>1</bUnitAI>
    </UnitAI>
    <UnitAI>
    <UnitAIType>UNITAI_CITY_DEFENSE</UnitAIType>
    <bUnitAI>1</bUnitAI>
    </UnitAI>
    <UnitAI>
    <UnitAIType>UNITAI_CITY_COUNTER</UnitAIType>
    <bUnitAI>1</bUnitAI>
    </UnitAI>
    <UnitAI>
    <UnitAIType>UNITAI_COUNTER</UnitAIType>
    <bUnitAI>1</bUnitAI>
    </UnitAI>
    </UnitAIs>

    2. <NotUnitAIs>
    <UnitAI>
    <UnitAIType>UNITAI_COLLATERAL</UnitAIType>
    <bUnitAI>1</bUnitAI>
    </UnitAI>
    <UnitAI>
    <UnitAIType>UNITAI_ATTACK</UnitAIType>
    <bUnitAI>1</bUnitAI>
    </UnitAI>
    <UnitAI>
    <UnitAIType>UNITAI_ATTACK_CITY</UnitAIType>
    <bUnitAI>1</bUnitAI>
    </UnitAI>
    <UnitAI>
    <UnitAIType>UNITAI_PILLAGE</UnitAIType>
    <bUnitAI>1</bUnitAI>
    </UnitAI>
    </NotUnitAIs>

    3. Also set ai "iasset" rating to 6 for machine_gun.

    4. Select "file" from menu and then click save. Make sure to restart steam and civ4 to see any ai behavior changes.
     

Share This Page