Kyoto spawns 2 warriors, moves both across a river, and attacks, all in 1 turn - HOW!?

Archaelicos

Warlord
Joined
Aug 13, 2007
Messages
148
Location
St. Louis, MO
Title says it all. I'm playing on Immortal level, I've got Japan's last city on its heels. Japan has no other cities, this is it. The city is empty. Then, in a single turn, Kyoto (1) spawns 2 warrior units; (2) moves BOTH out of the city across a river; and (3) BOTH attack my archers, who are one square away from the river. I parked them there specifically so the river could prevent attacks. It didn't matter, I smashed them both and took the city.

But I clearly don't understand the rules here - how did that happen? I could see if Japan maybe built one, then bought a second, they could place the second across the river - but how to BOTH units get to move across the river AND attack all in one turn? No roads, this is like a turn 50 war.
 
1&2 I can only think of 1 possibility. He could have finished a warrior that turn, started building a warrior again and a worker chopped some forest finishing production of the 2nd warrior. That way the warriors can move directly.
 
Still, @Trav'ling Canuck , when I either produce or buy units, I can't use them in the same round ? I don't remember any situations where I bought a unit and didn't have to wait until next turn before using it ?

I can understand how 2 can be spawned at the same time: Buy 1 unit, and the other was on it's last turn on the production... I can also understand how it could attack, as you explained, cities moving units across a river do not get river movement limitations... But using them right away ? that one is weird to me...
 
Still, @Trav'ling Canuck , when I either produce or buy units, I can't use them in the same round ? I don't remember any situations where I bought a unit and didn't have to wait until next turn before using it ?

I can understand how 2 can be spawned at the same time: Buy 1 unit, and the other was on it's last turn on the production... I can also understand how it could attack, as you explained, cities moving units across a river do not get river movement limitations... But using them right away ? that one is weird to me...
That's the issue I had. Getting 2 units out, ok. Crossing the river not counting because it's from a city, ok. But they ALSO then BOTH attacked. MAYBE the one that was built could attack, but if they bought/chopped somehow (chopping is unlikely but possibly), could you move and attack? Could they have been gifted a unit by a city-state that could move immediately? Is that still a thing in Civ VI? Anyway... it didn't matter but I've been playing Civ since the very beginning and I am alarmed when I discover game mechanics I didn't know and don't understand, especially about such basic aspects of the game.
 
Unit gifting from CS is not part of vi6, so... at least were sure THAT's not it... also, if they ARe active immediately, and can move 1 hex and be in melee to your archers, then yes, they definitely CAN attack also... what i don't get is how they can be produced and USED in the same turn
 
@Hakan-i Cihan , yes that's another way to get 2 units on the same turn... but I've never seen those units move in the same turn as they are produced ???

That's the issue I had. Getting 2 units out, ok. Crossing the river not counting because it's from a city, ok. But they ALSO then BOTH attacked. MAYBE the one that was built could attack, but if they bought/chopped somehow (chopping is unlikely but possibly), could you move and attack? Could they have been gifted a unit by a city-state that could move immediately? Is that still a thing in Civ VI? Anyway... it didn't matter but I've been playing Civ since the very beginning and I am alarmed when I discover game mechanics I didn't know and don't understand, especially about such basic aspects of the game.

Well, the game sure doesn't make it easy, but Hakan-i Cihan's explanation is correct. A unit that is built can move the same turn it is built. If you chop in a unit, it will count as built and can move that same turn. With enough builders around a city and Magnus and a bonus Policy Card you, could, in theory, chop in a number of units on the same turn, as long as each chop (or every two chops, after modifiers) supplied enough hammers to completely finish the new unit that turn.

By contrast, if you buy a unit using gold, it cannot move on the turn it is bought. Naturally, we extrapolate from that experience to assume a city can't produce more than one unit per turn capable of moving and attacking.
 
Hmmm.... didn't think you could chop 2 unit on the same turn, cause I rarely chop, but I guess that's possible... still under the impression that 1 is the maximum of unit that can be produced in one turn by one city, tough... surprised at reading this, but hey, being surprised is part of the fun ;-)
 
Hmmm.... didn't think you could chop 2 unit on the same turn, cause I rarely chop, but I guess that's possible... still under the impression that 1 is the maximum of unit that can be produced in one turn by one city, tough... surprised at reading this, but hey, being surprised is part of the fun ;-)

2, 3, 4 units ... with enough Builders around the city you could chop out a whole army and move them forward on that turn.

Fast science victories used to be based on this. Have all the space projects researched, get a Great Scientist who provides production towards projects. Activate the GS and that finishes one space project with overflow. Switch to a new space project and have a Builder chop. That will apply the chop plus the overflow and finish another space project. Repeat until all space projects are completed in a single turn. Now with Rayna and the Royal Society science is the delaying factor rather than the production costs of the space projects (at least for me, the better players may have solutions I haven't discovered).
 
Possibly he bought the other unit in the prior turn and it didn't show until the next turn when he also completed building the other.
 
Hard build and money purchase.
 
Perhaps a general was nearby allowing a 3 move starting from out of sight.
 
Back
Top Bottom