Little help?

Zlop

Chieftain
Hey there,
I stumbled on this forum looking for a civ2 download so that I could play it again. And I was pretty amazed to see that people are still playing it and also some people even bothered to mod it pretty extensivley.
The possibility of modding civ 2 got a huge amount of cool ideas floating around in my head, so I jotted them down on a piece of paper. Basically a list of cool modifications I would like to do to the game.
Thing is, some of them might require some pretty heavy modding work.
Now I'm a total newbie, and quite frankly I have no idea where to start if I wanted to do an overhaul type mod. I know, its a pretty huge goal for someone who knows nothing about modding civ 2, but it is doable. I'm thinking of starting off by extending the tech tree, adding some units and changing the rules of the game so that it ends around the year 3000 for a start.
That I think is pretty reasonable goal, nothing too fancy, all been done before. But since I'm a newbie:

-->Could anyone point me to the right ressources to get me on the right track please?

(I used the search function but didn't get much in the line of "civ2 modding tutorials", and I've sifted through a few pages of potentially useful material, but since I'm new here and you guys know the forum better then I do I'm hoping you can point me in the right direction, would save me some time.)
Cheers!

Moderator Action: I'm sure a civ 2 junkie will be along to help you out, but in the meantime, you should know that we don't allow swearing on the forums. Please refrain in the future from using that kind of language. Thanks,
Please read the forum rules: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=422889

Ok, won't swear again sorry.
And thanks for moving the thread, realised minutes after posting it that it wasn't really in the right section.

Could anyone point me to the right ressources to get me on the right track please?