Map Making and Copyright

timerover51

Deity
I have been busy the past few months working on some material for another game, but also working with the map editor for Civ3. I have not tried using Qunitillus editor as yet. Basically, what I am doing is making maps of the various planets in the Future History universe of H. Beam Piper, using whatever description he gives in his books as a guide, and then when nothing is there, using my imagination. It has been interesting.

What I was wondering is if there are copyright issues with Firaxis over using their editor to make maps for another game. The maps would not have map grids on them.

I also have been trying out the worlds that I have been creating, and that has been fun as well. I am not sure if I prefer the editor for Conquest or Play the World better, but the advantage to Conquest is that it has additional terrain like volcanoes and marsh.

IANAL (I am not a lawyer), but I don't see why there would be. The editor itself is copyrighted - you can't distribute copies of it, or create a derivative of it and distribute that without Firaxis's permission, but I don't see any terms in it (just checked the About and Help in the editor as well, though not the Conquests installer files) that say you can't use the files it creates in any way you want. And that's generally how most software works unless otherwise specified - once you buy the product you can use what you create with it however you like. Occasionally there are exceptions - the Unity game engine, for example, has an option where it's free, but you have to give a certain % of any game sales you create with it to its developer - but I would be pretty confident that since there are no conditions made known to the user when using the editor (and assuming it isn't a pirated copy), there would be no grounds for a copyright issue even if Firaxis cared about its editor being useful in creating maps for a different game. I'm also doubtful they would care; if anything it w