1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Marines

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by sam44hill, Oct 28, 2013.

  1. Johnpecan

    Johnpecan Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    227
    Sidenote: I have thought a lot about this and I think it would be a great addition to Civ5. Just have variable money for upgrades.
    For example, a warrior could theoretically upgrade to any non-horsemen line melee unit (spearmen, pikemen, swordsman, longswordsman etc) it would just cost more gold for bigger upgrades or even cost more gold to cross genres (aka spearmen to longswordsman) etc.. That way when you get to marines, you can upgrade some of your great war infantry to marines and have a more specialized upgraded army.

    Edit: This might not be what you had in mind, but it's somewhat related!
     
  2. Sturmgewher88mm

    Sturmgewher88mm Kaiser

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Messages:
    388
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    石川琉球
    That's actuallty how it was in Civ IV; warrior could go either spearman or swordsman, and once you have mech infantry you could upgrade a warrior to one for a ton of gold off the bat.
     
  3. brindle

    brindle Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    they should have never let ships conquer cities (or at least cities > size 3). made marine useless.
     
  4. sam44hill

    sam44hill Always go for the Kill

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    I do miss the multiple options for upgrading. I, too, feel Civ V would benefit from this mechanic.
     
  5. georgie

    georgie Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    137
    I'd rather have a single unit useless than almost all naval units.


    Thanks!
     
  6. Polisurgist

    Polisurgist King

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    630
    You do both know that units can attack units, right?
     
  7. georgie

    georgie Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    137
    :lol: yes, I do. I just never used naval when it was all ranged.
     
  8. Vidszhite

    Vidszhite Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    370
    Gender:
    Male
    The civilopedia even says they're stronger, when they're not, so I think they're meant to be stronger... and aren't.
     
  9. Barghaest

    Barghaest King

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    I believe that's because they were originally stronger when first introduced, but there's been a good deal of adjustments/additions of units since then and they became weaker and the Civilopedia entry wasn't changed (much like the entry for Harbors still stating they add production for Sea Resources when they don't anymore).
     

Share This Page