1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[MOD/MODCOMP] Better Looking Units

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Mods and Files' started by Deliverator, Apr 2, 2009.

  1. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,499
    Location:
    London, UK
    Version 0.5 is out now. I'm really interested to hear feedback from anyone who tries out the new features. Time for lunch...
     
  2. i_diavolorosso

    i_diavolorosso Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    446
    I played 0.5 once this morning (used dutch), but somehow the other european doesn't appear.So it's just me and the native in the map.

    Bug??
     
  3. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,499
    Location:
    London, UK
    That's strange. Were you playing the Americas scenario or a random map? Could you post a save game?

    Also, make sure that you have the official Firaxis patch installed. There was a bug in the initial release where european powers refused to settle in custom scenarios. I've tested the scenario myself and the Europeans do settle although sometimes the seems to take a few turn to choose a location. Jamestown in Central America: :)

     
  4. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,499
    Location:
    London, UK
    Here's what I've done on the Dutch unit so far. Still very much a work in progress.

     
  5. i_diavolorosso

    i_diavolorosso Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    446
    I use dales's non installer patch

    At first i don't realize this problem.But when i come to about turn 70 i still got no contact with other european, and i prefer to take a look with world builder, and the map only showed me, maya, tupi, sioux and arawak.
    I played generated map (play games then a new world)

    How do you think i could post my savegames? btw:p?
     
  6. PiMan

    PiMan Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,981
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    What mapsize are you using, because the smallest mapsize doesn't actually have opponent Europeans.

    EDIT: and to post gamesaves, go to the advanced post creator/editor, scroll down to "Manage Attachments" and I think the instructions from there should be explanatory enough.
     
  7. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,499
    Location:
    London, UK
    Thanks PiMan. Your savegames are probably in this path:

    C:\Documents and Settings\<UserName>\My Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization IV Colonization\Saves\single

    Change drive letter and username as needed.
     
  8. i_diavolorosso

    i_diavolorosso Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    446
    Hmm

    I think that's the problem.I'm not sure what's the map size, because i randomise it, but the map is very small, and i guess it's the problem.:lol:

    Btw good job with the dutch deliverator.:goodjob:
     
  9. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,986
    Everything is looking better and better mate. :)
     
  10. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,499
    Location:
    London, UK
    Cheers Dale, when AOD2 1.10 is out - I'll probably merge this into some sort of modmod.
     
  11. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,499
    Location:
    London, UK
    Spot the odd one out :p

     
  12. Zuul

    Zuul Mod lister!

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,117
    Location:
    Sweden
    Hehe cool *thumbs up*
     
  13. PiMan

    PiMan Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,981
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    The odd one out is the only female there.
     
  14. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,499
    Location:
    London, UK
    You may have noticed that since I made some of the Native units melee rather than ranged, that combat animation can be a bit strange. You can see in the title screen image at the top of this thread that the Conquistador at the bottom is firing into space while the Maya spearman safely prods him with his spear. I've managed to fix this using the info in this excellent tutorial.

    So now the Conquistador Musketman will use his sword against melee units and his musket against ranged units. Makes combat look less ridiculous. I'll try and roll similar changes out to other musket carrying units that don't currently have melee animations. I'd like to get the units with bayonets to actually use them in melee perhaps using a spearman animation.

     
  15. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,499
    Location:
    London, UK
    Also for the next version I'm working on horse texture varieties:

     
  16. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,499
    Location:
    London, UK
    Another Native Unit...

     
  17. Wonderblunder

    Wonderblunder Part Time Monster in the Closet

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    454
    Your units are really great!In my opinion, your mod should be featured in a modcast.
     
  18. i_diavolorosso

    i_diavolorosso Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    446
    What a magnificent hairstyle:lol:
     
  19. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,499
    Location:
    London, UK
    Well, apparently in the Native American culture hair was normally grown long, but then shaved off for war. So maybe this guy is symbolizing War and Peace through a hairstyle... ;)

    The hair was taken from the Cherokee leaderhead and slightly adjusted. The rest is an adjusted Scout model from normal Civ4. Reskinned the whole upper half using some bits and pieces from the M2TW textures, extensively recoloured, blended and manipulated to look coherent. I didn't like the normal scout animations so I'm using the Celtic Warrior ones - seems to work pretty well.

    Next, I'm going to try using the Apache leaderhead's hair for the Apache unit model.
     
  20. i_diavolorosso

    i_diavolorosso Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    446
    Really great job!:goodjob:
    And i'm really agree if you make blu as a modmod of AOD:D
     

Share This Page