1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Modding Civ I - Special resources everywhere... or nowhere!

Discussion in 'Civ1 - General Discussions' started by darkpanda, Sep 27, 2013.

  1. darkpanda

    darkpanda Dark Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    This is another kind of silly patch, but I thought it could be interesting to play CIV games where all terrain squares have a special resource - or none of them...

    The bytes to patch are as follows for all known versions of CIV DOS:
    Code:
     offsets:
            Civ EN 474.01 offset: [B]0x1C867[/B]
            Civ EN 475.01 offset: [B]0x1C867[/B] (untested)
            Civ EN 474.03 offset: [B]0x1BEAB[/B] (untested)
            Civ EN 474.04 offset: [B]0x1BEB1[/B]
            Civ EN 474.05 offset: [B]0x1C6C5[/B] (untested)
            Civ FR 474.05 offset: [B]0x1D24D[/B] (untested)
    
    original bytes: [COLOR="Red"]55 8B EC 83[/COLOR] EC 02 83 7E  0A 01 7E 06 83 7E 0A 30
    
     patched bytes: [COLOR="Blue"]B8 [B]01[/B] 00 CB[/COLOR] EC 02 83 7E  0A 01 7E 06 83 7E 0A 30
    (for special resources [I]everywhere[/I])
    
     patched bytes: [COLOR="Blue"]B8 [B]00[/B] 00 CB[/COLOR] EC 02 83 7E  0A 01 7E 06 83 7E 0A 30
    (for special resources [I]nowhere[/I])
    
    From a purely strategic point of view, you might as well modify the terrain properties for normal terrain to match those of special terrain rather than using this hack, because it is kind of hard on the eyes:

     

    Attached Files:

  2. kirkham7

    kirkham7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    Hayward, CA
    I've actually always wanted to try this. Thanks!
     
  3. kirkham7

    kirkham7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    Hayward, CA
    Yeah it's not working for mine (474.04)... I suppose the patch will be different for the various versions.
     
  4. darkpanda

    darkpanda Dark Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    For 474.04 the sequence "55 8B EC 83 EC 02 83 7E 0A 01 7E 06 83 7E 0A 30" is located at 0x1BEB1...
    It's untested, but I believe it should work.
     
  5. kirkham7

    kirkham7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    Hayward, CA
    I will take a look and let you know.
     
  6. darkpanda

    darkpanda Dark Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    I just updated the first post with offsets for all known versions of CIV... Most are untested but since this sequence of bytes appears only once in each, more or less at the same place, I'm confident it will work.
     
  7. kirkham7

    kirkham7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    Hayward, CA
    Yeah there is only one place, but mine is still not working.
     
  8. darkpanda

    darkpanda Dark Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Strange, because I just tested it in my copy of 474.04 and it works fine... Would you mind give more details about your steps to apply the patch ?
     
  9. kirkham7

    kirkham7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    Hayward, CA
    Interesting...
    Anyways, I used a hex editor, copied the whole list of hexes and clicked on search. Then I manually replaced them having your post on one side, and my editor on the other. I also replaced the file a few times and did it automatically with search and replace.

    Edit:
    I have a version 1 and it works just fine there, maybe I have hacked up my file too much.
     
  10. Toupie

    Toupie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Can't help but think this hack makes pollution levels skyrocket. :crazyeye:
     
  11. Whelkman

    Whelkman Phantom Taxman

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    524
    I always wanted a level 62 oasis town. Can't beat having 54 phantom taxmen! 19,530,000 population.
     

Share This Page