Mods / Plugins / User-Extensibility

Puppeteer

Emperor
I'm breaking this out as a separate topic:

Then you get into areas like interfaces where mods could hook in, and not having worked on a project where modules could be loaded dynamically (especially modules in another languages, such as Lua), I'm much less certain how to approach it.

My current project uses plugins in Python, and I've done Minecraft Forge modding which is based on event callbacks, so I have some experience with the pattern but I don't know yet how closely those ideas carry over to Godot and especially Lua. It would be great if we can find a working example of runtime Godot plugins.

Embedded Script Interpreters

Lua and Python are interpreted script languages. Lua (including its C# implementation MoonSharp) and IronPython in a particular Python are embedded (optionally so for IronPython), meaning the interpreter is compiled into your project. No dynamic loading beyond reading a text file or string is needed because the project understands Lua or Python script.

You can just expose the script environment to a class or interface definition and let the script have at it. For non-privileged scripts, just design the class methods and setters so you can't break the rules. e.g. At the "control this unit" class level, prevent a settler from walking on water or taking too many moves if the script tries to.

I prototyped this in SimpleGame. I defined a Turn API/class in C# code and document it in the readme. In SimpleGame I have the Lua scripts defined as constants or getters or something, but that's only because I couldn't be bothered to write the code to read in a text file or provide a script editor for a proof of concept.

Spoiler Lua handler setup code :
See explanation following code.
Code:
    class LuaAI : Script, IAI {
        public LuaAI(string script) : base(CoreModules.Preset_HardSandbox) {
            UserData.RegisterType<Turn>();
            DoString(script);
        }