More newb questions

tbplayer59

Chieftain
First of all, I just won my first game on standard difficulty. It was a science victory, so I got to see the SS launch and didn't have to play all the way to 2050. Now the questions...

1. If I open a trade route to one of my cities and send them production, does that speed up whatever they're working on?

2. Are there some production items that a Great Engineer can't speed up? I bought a GE with the intent of speeding up production on a SS component, but the game wouldn't let me.

3. What hexes are the best on which to have the GE build a manufactory?

4. When opening up a trade route to another major civ, you see a list of resources that they have usually with something like "0.5 per turn." Are you supposed to be receiving those resources? It seems like the only resources I get are those from a negotiated trade deal and those given to me by an allied CS.

Thanks in advance!

I can't answer them all, as I'm no expert, but:

1) That city will get the extra production, but not necessarily for whatever you are currently building. It adds to the overall production of that city, not to whatever is being built. It may shave off a turn or two (depending upon that's city's production), but it's not specifically going towards the current build.

2) Great Engineers can't be used to speed up SS components. The Great Engineer is used for things like great and national wonders. Maybe also buildings. But not for SS parts, nor to build the Apollo program.

3) Great Engineers can be planted on "strategic" resources (i.e., coal, oil, aluminum, etc.) Not luxuries (i.e. wine, dyes, gold, salt, etc.). I personally never plant for manufacturies.

4) I'm not sure. To be honest--I usually only look at how much gold I can get.

I'm sure the experts will weigh in soon.

1 A trade route lasts for 30 turns. During those 30 turns, the city you send the trade route to will get an increased production per turn.