New Player (Civ 2 Vet) With Some Questions

TheAspiringWarlord

Chieftain
Hello, everyone! Nice to be here; despite the years and years of fun that I have gotten out of the Civilization games, I didn't know these forums existed until today. Now that this gross oversight has been corrected, I am here to start learning from other people, and sharing my own hard won knowledge.

I am currently playing through my first game of Civ III (I am a long-standing veteran of Civ II, which I still own the MPGE disk of). I am playing on Chieftain to start (just to get my feet wet with the new mechanics and such), and doing really very well, but I am getting thrown some curves due to seeming SHARP differences between Civ II and Civ III, so I was hoping some of you Civ III veterans could help me out.

First and foremost, Espionage as a tactic now seems to be entirely useless. I have never not had a planted spy be caught and killed instantly, and therefore, have never successfully attempted an espionage mission, let alone completed one. This is in stark contrast to Civ II, where espionage was thoroughly broken and allowed you to casually buy units and cities, as well as screw with your opponents in less abusive ways almost at will. Is there any way at all to get a spy to stick? I sank a grand total of about 10k just trying to plant spies so far; NOTHING has worked.

Second, I have noticed that strategic resources seem to run out. This is a big problem in terms of keeping up production; does anyone know how to keep this from happening? Or, if it is not preventable, how to properly gauge how many units/improvements I can build with a resource before it goes dry?