Not sure where to build Petra

Carmack

Chieftain
Hey guys, I've never built the Petra before. I know, I know, but I generally avoid deserts like the plague (hangover from Civ4).

Spoiler :

Not one, but two excellent desert locations for Petra. Minus the obvious city title, the one to the north has 13-14 desert tiles (the tile next to the marble is desert/hills) and the one to the south has 11-12, but more hills and sea resources. It's just... wow, both spots are marvelous with plenty of desert tiles. I haven't seen a start this good in a while.

Also, do the tile benefits from Petra stop working when you research Archeology?

Donno what difficulty you are playing on, because often getting Petra depends on if AIs spawned on deserts or not.

Anyway, I think you should settle 5 tiles to SW (between two sheeps). You will get two +food sea lux, 2 fish, and 3 sheeps (and a wheat I guess... but desert wheat is pretty meh). Too bad it's not by a mountain, but I don't think you should be picky here.

I'd go with the southwestern one, but both of those are some fine Petra spots, if you don't have trouble from the AI grabbing it. And nope, the bonuses go all game.

If you can get it in those hills, that would be best! You will be able to get more production and some food production out of the hills then and be able to get a lot of hammers,

Agree on south, although the only downside there is lack of fresh water (other than the desert wheat tile, which will be an OK tile with petra, granary and a farm). The sea resources will be your most reliable source of food, although once Petra is built, each improved sheep tile will be 3 food and 3 hammers (4 hammers with a stable). Settle on the coastal hill between the two sheep, which should put all of the sea resources in range. Hard to beat 9 Petra-able hills, 3 of which have sheep.

The northern site has more flat desert tiles (junk, even with better access to fresh water).