Official Rage Thread

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Fish Man, Jun 26, 2014.

  1. sh3baproject

    sh3baproject Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    Somewhere in this sentence.
    game as venice. spawn between alexander monty attilia and shaka…its not fun :mad:
     
  2. civmaster17

    civmaster17 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    55

    Sounds fair


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  3. Walter R

    Walter R Great Engineer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    713
    Location:
    England
    Grrrr,

    Try this from current game:
    Build scout, start exploring, find ruins but Sulemein's warrior gets there first.
    Move scout. second move find ruins...but Ethiopian warrior gets there first (hey, nice spearman)
    Move scout again, couple or so turns later get beaten to ruins by immortal!
    Finally get to ruins first..."You find a crudely-drawn map..."

    OK, just not gonna be my day is it?! In all fairness I did really well for ruins last game so I guess it's my turn to luck out.
     
  4. kingfish101

    kingfish101 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    300
    Location:
    In the middle of an ocean.
    Tell leader not to send missionaries and prophets to my lands.
    Sends missionaries anyway.

    its crusading time
     
  5. Antilogic

    Antilogic --

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    15,602
    I did not realize that I could not directly upgrade Shoshone pathfinders, I had to pick the promotion option when I found ruins.

    Yeah... there goes that idea. Still was able to pick 3 techs, though.
     
  6. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,936
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    Yeah, like a scout, the pathfindre only upgrades to a new type of unit when it pops an upgrade ruin (in the case of a scout) or selects upgrade as a ruin yield (pathfinder).
     
  7. Fish Man

    Fish Man Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,425
    Are you Canadian? Because if so, what's your favourite colour?

    Playing as Babylon, great start. No matter what I do, get beaten to skill dorado on t5 because stupid AI scouts have free promotion, and they ALWAYS pick sight...and look who gets free 500 gold? Obviously Shaka!
     
  8. Doktor Vic Tim

    Doktor Vic Tim King

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    625
    Location:
    Sweden
    Rolls sweet lands/location --> surrounded by neghbours who hate me

    Rolls bad lands --> turns out there are plenty city states and better lands further away

    Why does this happen to me? From now on, I shall re-roll good starts.

    Also, accidentally picked Cathedrals instead of Monasteries when I had plenty of Incense. Oh well.
     
  9. Mic112

    Mic112 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    California
    Influential in every civ except 1 civ who has a ton of culture. Lose to some passive getting world leader on the other side of the ing planet.
     
  10. docbud

    docbud Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,518
    King level, Epic speed, playing as Mongolia. Turn 30 Dido forward settles another city on me. It is her THIRD. Turn 56 she attacks with five archers, three warriors, and two of those elephants.

    That's right--turn 56 on epic! I've only got two archers and my scout, and my capital is my only city.

    Needless to say I rage quit.

    How can she have that many cities by turn 30? And that many units?
     
  11. Primacide

    Primacide Settler

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    602
    Location:
    California
    Dude, you were the freakin MONGOLS and you got whacked by... Carthage?

    What in the world happened?
     
  12. Nick31

    Nick31 Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    421
    The rival AI Great Prophets roaming around are officially driving me bananas.

    For a game where concerns over micro transformed a lot of game design, do you know how annoying it is to constantly have to move 2-3 units back and forth like a metronome as a Great Prophet moves one way and then the other?

    I'm generally a stout believer in never rage-quitting, never re-rolling for a better start, or re-loading a save of a misplayed battle. But you know where I draw the line? Unwanted AI Great Prophets. It never fails that I'm playing quickly and don't realize an unwanted Prophet has a clear line by ship to cozy up next to my city with my chosen religion and turns it. I will re-load like a bandit and micro my way out of it, so help me. That's enormously frustrating.

    That thing in CivBE where you build a hypersonic fence to ward off Dune Worms? I wish I had that option. There are times I welcome an AI's missionaries, but they are few and far. And having to micro each and every turn to wall off a Prophet is shades of previous Civ games. And it's awful.

    I also wish there was a way to invite in the 'nice' religion :). So the religion with Jesuit Reform and Feed the World could cozy on in if you asked nicely...

    But otherwise, when you've got a nice Desert Folklore or Sacred Path Jungle city churning out faith/culture and also benefiting from hammers/food and some AI Prophet sneaks in without a pop up letting you know it's in your territory: Autosave :rolleyes:.
     
  13. GoStu

    GoStu King

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    656
    Location:
    Calgary
    I have been known to level entire Civilizations that just wouldn't ing lay off the Great Prophets. Ethiopia, Siam, Venice... all have been put to the sword for not stopping the conversions. :lol:

    For how angry the AI gets if/when you convert them, they're sure awfully casual about doing it to you.
     
  14. docbud

    docbud Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,518
    Ummm..because I only had a couple of archers and hadn't teched keshiks yet. It was very early in the game (epic speed).
     
  15. phillipwyllie

    phillipwyllie Wannabe Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,458
    Location:
    4 Hexes from FoY
    An Inquisitor in or adjacent to your cities prevents conversion. It's best to buy 1 or 2 when they are cheap. I had this in my last game where a friendly Assyria sent in a GP and I had to use 800 :c5faith: to keep the peace(I had a DOF). Then a friendly Egypt(I had a DOF) came in with a GP so that was another 800 :c5faith: .You are right it is a monumental pain, for me this went on 150 turns until I was ready to make Assur and Thebes part of my empire.
     
  16. shaglio

    shaglio The Prince of Dorkness

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2001
    Messages:
    3,548
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lawrence, MA, USA
    I’ve got a rant I need to get off my chest: I’m sick and tired of losing all my Trade Routes because I’m the only person on the planet that can be bothered to kill barbarians. C’mon, AI idiots, pick up the slack! I can’t afford to build enough units to cover every square inch of the world! It’s bad enough that I’m losing Cargo Ships in the middle of the sea, but quite often they’re being captured right on the edge of the destination city’s borders. Put a little effort into guarding your coast is all I’m asking!
     
  17. Asklepios

    Asklepios Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    212
    Yeah, its actually one of the most realistic features of the game. :)
     
  18. Primacide

    Primacide Settler

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    602
    Location:
    California

    Sorry for giving you a hard time. I should have paid attention to the turn numbers you referenced. Turn 56 with 8-10 strong units is a bit much to handle on that difficulty level. To be fair, I would have been surprised too.
     
  19. docbud

    docbud Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,518
    ^^No need to apologize :)
     
  20. albucc

    albucc Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    São Paulo/Brazil
    Got that with my Enrico Dandolo submission! Was trying a diplomatic victory for recording in the Civ5 HoF... Got a Merchant of Venice and decided to buy a city-state, only to discover one turn later that the bought city-state would make me get one vote less from achieving diplomatic victory, and I was already influencing the only civ left to the point that I would achieve the unwanted cultural victory before that...

    Well, why didn't I checked the CvGameCore for the diplomatic rules ?? :( ...
     

Share This Page