Patch safe?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by ULTIMATEGP, May 22, 2006.

  1. ULTIMATEGP

    ULTIMATEGP Blitzkrieg!!!

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    fighitng for the fatherland
    I'm always nervous about downloading stuff. Is the patch safe?
     
  2. King Flevance

    King Flevance Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,612
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Sure just go into the game, go to options>advanced>check for updates. And you get the patch straight from the software designers themselves. If you dont trust the patch from them then it wouldnt seem right to trust installing the game. ;)
     
  3. armchairknight

    armchairknight Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Jackson, Michigan
    I'm fully patched and still fully operational. So rest easy, UltimateGP. It's safe enough.
     
  4. Willowmound

    Willowmound Wordbug

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    2,228
    Location:
    Afloat
    Just you wait. It's really secretly programmed to blow your puters up on June 1, 2006.

    Don't say I didn't warn you!
     
  5. salty

    salty Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    447
    Don't be silly. They won't blow until 5 days later (June 6).
     
  6. rilke

    rilke Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    You might not be able to play more than six turns...
     
  7. King Flevance

    King Flevance Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,612
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    ROFL :nuke:
     
  8. Reignking

    Reignking Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    304
    That's correct. 6/6/6
     
  9. elderotter

    elderotter Otter King

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Central Upstate NY
    reminds me of the Dentist in Marathon Man. He is drilling into Dustin Hoffmann's teeth saying "is it safe?, Is it Safe?".
     
  10. Willowmound

    Willowmound Wordbug

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    2,228
    Location:
    Afloat
    Of course. I should have realised.
     
  11. GIDS888

    GIDS888 King

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    796
    Location:
    England South West
    It's typical Take Two fare, Dude.

    Game runs faster, graphics don't judder - and with v1.61 I get CTD, end game, which I've never had before!

    Ho Hum!
     
  12. boneys26

    boneys26 BTS Play session tester

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    Coventry, England

    Think mine's f**ked they got that date wrong on mine :eek: :eek:
     
  13. Ninjatrey

    Ninjatrey Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Is the patch really safe? When I tried to install a patch on Civ3 I had to reinstall
     
  14. Dagenham Dave

    Dagenham Dave Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    How could it not be safe? Imagine eating at a restaurant, enjoying a fine meal, when the chef comes out and says "I've decided to improve your product slightly", pouring rat poison all over.
     
  15. caitlinm

    caitlinm Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    NY
    Worked fine for me. And I was scared. Actually works better.
     
  16. Willowmound

    Willowmound Wordbug

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    2,228
    Location:
    Afloat
    Exactly. If a patch isn't safe, what is? Do you fear downloading the Windows security updates too?
     
  17. Chaos_BF1942

    Chaos_BF1942 Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    488
    The patch for is safe.

    I didn't know they had computers back in 6AD
     
  18. ULTIMATEGP

    ULTIMATEGP Blitzkrieg!!!

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    fighitng for the fatherland
    lol @all posts
     

Share This Page