1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Performance problems

Discussion in 'Old World' started by Haig, May 8, 2020.

  1. Haig

    Haig Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,570
    Location:
    Finland
    My computer runs games like Civ VI and Battlefield V flawlessly, but when on highest settings Old World seems to stutter.

    Anyone noticing that the game seems very demanding of computer or is it problem in my video card?
     
  2. Noble Zarkon

    Noble Zarkon Elite Quattromaster - Emperor (BTS) Super Moderator Hall of Fame Staff Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    6,041
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Gibraltar
    I've noticed that my fans are working very very hard with Old World, I guess it's not fully optimised yet.
     
  3. Loerwyn

    Loerwyn Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    243
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    England
    Pretty much what Zarkon said, there'll be a lot of optimisation to come. I turned the settings down the medium and turned off what I normally do (bloom, etc.) and it's okay, but it isn't the smoothest.
     
  4. Unconquered Sun

    Unconquered Sun Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,462
    It does need a lot of optimization.
     
  5. Stringer1313

    Stringer1313 Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,102
    Performance was still semi decent towards the end game in the smallest map and 4 civs. Now Im' playing a slightly bigger map with 6 civs, and the performance problems have made it unplayable and I am only in mid game (i.e., 3 ambitions accomplished).

    I set the graphics settings to the lowest possible but it maybe helped performance by like 10%, but still unplayable.

    FWIW I think my specs are:

    AMD FX(tm)-6300 Six-Core
    Processor 3.50 GHz
    8.00GB Ram
    64-bit operating system, x64-based processor
    Windows 10

    Someone please tell me if i'm living in the stone age
     
  6. Loerwyn

    Loerwyn Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    243
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    England
    No, I don't think you are. But you've not given specs for your graphics card there, which will also play a big part.

    However, this week's patch seems to have made the game perform worse for me.
     
  7. Jp1138

    Jp1138 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 31, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    The game turns nearly unplayable for me as years go by. It runs perfectly fine at first, but later it becomes slower and slower until it just crashes. It´s in early access, so it´s just a matter of time it gets better - I hope, because I love the game.
     
  8. Stringer1313

    Stringer1313 Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,102
    I think this was in another thread but someone suggested saving and quitting the game as soon as they start seeing the yellow text on the upper left hand corner (I think they say something about like memory is overloaded or something like that), then restarting the game. I also had major performance problems towards the late game routinely, to the point of freezing and crashing. But since using this trick, it's been working. However my hypothesis is that you have to quit right away when you see the yellow text - if you let it go on and on, your game will be screwed even if you restart.

    However this is all just based on what i've done so far so i don't know if that's the cause. But maybe you should try it and see what you think.
     
  9. Jp1138

    Jp1138 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 31, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Yep, thanks, I read this around here too, but I didn´t notice the text. I should stay alert for it. In any case it must be as you say, that the game somehow gets "corrupted" the more time you play without restarting and it affects the save, because I´m experiencing huge slowdowns even after reloading. So as soon as it appears you should save and quit.
     

Share This Page