1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

RB2 - Clueless Catherine Conquers Crowded Continents

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Succession Games' started by Kylearan, Sep 26, 2010.

  1. Gold Ergo Sum

    Gold Ergo Sum Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    So do we want to start burning down and back filling or just keep the puppets and start raizing future cities?

    Make sure if we are keeping puppets that you replace every one of their farms, that way they cannot choose to work farms and grow faster. We want them left with no options but to work trading posts.
     
  2. Kylearan

    Kylearan compound eye

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,538
    Location:
    Bonn, Germany
    Another opponent down, and declared war on the last AI on our continent - looks good, MuLepton! :goodjob:

    I'm in favor of razing and back-filling, especially now that we have severe happiness problems and there are no other AIs left threatening to settle empty spots.

    Looks like my main focus besides getting rid of Bismarck is improving the happiness crisis. Got it.
     
  3. Gold Ergo Sum

    Gold Ergo Sum Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Hiawatha is still there on the other side of Biz I think, but he will be boxed in by us once we conquer Biz.
     
  4. MuLepton

    MuLepton Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Yeah, Hiawatha is still around, but I don't think he'll be more than a very small bump in the road. Three of the four cities Bismarck offered for peace were former Iroquois cities.
     
  5. Kylearan

    Kylearan compound eye

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,538
    Location:
    Bonn, Germany
    Oh great, I cannot load the save - the game crashes. :wallbash: I've downloaded the save another time, with the same result.

    Could anybody else check if they can load the savefile?
     
  6. MuLepton

    MuLepton Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    I could load it before I uploaded - I'll recheck and re-upload
    if necessary.
     
  7. MuLepton

    MuLepton Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    I just checked again, my local version of the save loads fine. I'll re-attach the file...
    Well, apparently, I can't re-upload, the board tells me that I have already attached it in this thread, sigh.
     
  8. Kylearan

    Kylearan compound eye

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,538
    Location:
    Bonn, Germany
    I suggest a swap then. SleepingMoogle, maybe you could try to load the save and play before me? Hopefully I can load your save then.
     
  9. SleepingMoogle

    SleepingMoogle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    I'll have a look at the save after work and let you know what's up. I probably won't be able to play the turns until tomorrow though.
     
  10. MuLepton

    MuLepton Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    If it doesn't work for you either, I can try playing one more turn and saving after that. I seem to recall that another SG had the same problem, and that fixed it.
     
  11. SleepingMoogle

    SleepingMoogle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    No dice for me either. The game crashes whenever I try to load that save. :(
     
  12. Kylearan

    Kylearan compound eye

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,538
    Location:
    Bonn, Germany
    Congrats Firaxis: Shipping a game with broken game mechanics is one thing. Also having this kind of bugs still in the game after several patches is insulting. :wallbash:

    MuLepton, could you try to play an additional turn and post the new save? Maybe that will work. :rolleyes:
     
  13. MuLepton

    MuLepton Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    The attached archive contains 2 saves:
    I reloaded and re-saved, maybe that already helps?
    Then I just hit enter and saved again.

    IBT:
    Spoiler :
    Our pikeman near munich was attacked by an archer and a landsknecht, but he survived.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. SleepingMoogle

    SleepingMoogle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Tried both saves without success.. :sad:

    I'm not quite sure what can be done here. Maybe Gold Ergo Sum can check if he can load the saves instead?
     
  15. MuLepton

    MuLepton Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Well, this sucks :(
    Worst case, we'll just have to consider my turns not having happened and start over from Gold's last save...
     
  16. SleepingMoogle

    SleepingMoogle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Kylearan? Gold Ergo Sum? Have you tried the latest saves yet? We're not really going anywhere right now.. I must admit my enthusiasm isn't that great after reading the Deity win, but I would like to finish what we started.
     
  17. MuLepton

    MuLepton Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Yeah, same here.
     
  18. Kylearan

    Kylearan compound eye

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,538
    Location:
    Bonn, Germany
    Sorry for the late answer, but it's not always easy to sneak in computer time on weekends due to the family. :crazyeye:

    Steam updated for me, so I tried to load all three saves again - no dice, the game still crashes. (I won't buy the next Firaxis game before it's been out at least two months and it's clear the game a) runs without problems and b) only has marginal issues with game mechanics/balance. With this problem we're facing right now, I've lost the rest of the faith I had in Firaxis. They have to work HARD to regain my trust.)

    I'm not sure how to continue from here. MuLepton, you're the only one able to load the game, correct? Which version of Steam do you have? Some other threads indicate this might be an issue with the recent problems. I have "Steam package version2 1411/1411" (whatever that means) from Nov, 3rd.

    I'd like to finish what we've started as well, and I'm curious to see how the other crowded continent fares. But replaying turns alteady played is...not fun. :( Maybe we can sort out this issue by comparing version information. If not, I guess I have to replay MuLepton's turns (provided I will be able to load Gold's save :rolleyes: ). Won't be able to do this before tomorrow evening, though.
     
  19. MuLepton

    MuLepton Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    My "About Steam" info:
    Civ 5 itself is version 1.0.0.621
    Hmmm, (maybe) silly question: Did you two install the free DLC (Mongols)? Because I did - this issue looks a lot like the Collectors/Regular edition conflict, and that was due to an "extra" civilization present.
     
  20. Gold Ergo Sum

    Gold Ergo Sum Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    I just tried and I can load the 1150 AD save. Should I play it?
     

Share This Page