• Civilization 7 has been announced. For more info please check the forum here .

Research

Calapine

Chieftain
This might be quite a noobish question, but...

The techweb feels a bit overwhelming at the start and there quite a few useful techs: resource unlocks, miasma, biowell, farms, different orbital units,...

In short, I have no idea what to priotiese and notice I end up researching more or less on a whim. :confused:

Are there some basic research guidelines? What are some must haves?

All 6 techs in the first ring are basically required, including computing, which has the cost of a second ring tech. The leaf techs under those are situational, and will probably change based on the game. I'm not good with tech names, so some searching will help out for the rest. Academies are good and used in many optimal strategies. They aren't required though; personally I rarely pick up that tech unless going Supremacy, and I still win Apollo. Institute gives a building quest for a free tech, so that tech is really important. Everything else is situational based on victory condition.

Your priority should be base on your starting cities advancement. Go for pioneer to get your first colonist build and start getting your trade routes up. After that look at what your cities need health, food, or production. Then it is up to you what you want to focus on: You can get techs base on your diplomatic trait, go for affinity techs, focus on all food based building or anything you feel like doing. Their is a idea strategy but it is not that hard to beat the game using any strategy on Apollo.

Nothing wrong with just starting by picking up whatever you need at the moment. You'll somewhat automatically find more "in-depth" build orders and useful beelines once you're comfortable with the general layout of the tech web.

Thanks (a lot)! That's already very helpful.

One follow up if I may...

I am guessing shooting for one good orbital (tech) is probably useful.