1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Rise of Darkness

Discussion in 'FfH2 Modmods, Scenarios, and Maps' started by cyther, Nov 21, 2008.

  1. cyther

    cyther Lord of the Dance

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,033
    Location:
    Fane of Lessers
    Not yet. I really have only spent the last few weeks debugging and then I lost my DLL source files so I had to rewrite from the beginning of version .22.
     
  2. Vorpal+5

    Vorpal+5 Venturing in Erebus

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    633
    ouch, sorry to hear that. I hope you'll still be motivated to advance your mod though :)
     
  3. Draconian

    Draconian Templar of Doom

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    291
    Location:
    Germany
    Was looking forward to trying out this modmod, but FfH patch d isn't hosted anymore by Kael. Anybody knows where I could still get that patch?

    edit: Forget this post, I got that patch, I'm stupid :D
     
  4. Jabie

    Jabie Wanted in Monte Carlo...

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    I can't get the installer to work at all. Downloaded the file, it only contained an executable, likewise the patch. Fired up main executable then patch in turn, but no such luck. Tried copying FFH2 and renaming copy to Rise of Darkness, then firing the executables again, then ran a search on the term "Nikito" in file contents to confirm whether or not the load was successful, but I didn't find it. In short, I can't get this mod to work, what am I missing?
     
  5. cyther

    cyther Lord of the Dance

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,033
    Location:
    Fane of Lessers
    I think I know what is happening. I just got vista and noticed that the installer I am using will never work install correctly. I am making a new installer that will work now. It should be ready by seven tonight.

    _______________

    Patch K
    1. Finally Fixes Furious icon
    2. Updates to FfH patch g
    3. Forts can't board ships
    4. New Unit: Floating Castle 5/15 :strength: 3:move: Can be built by workboats natlimit: 4
    5. Removed spell delay on arm fort spells
    6. Fixed bCasterNoDuration thanks, Ahwaric

    New patch to catch up with Kael's patching. Everything should work correctly now.
     
  6. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Hope you don't mind, I'm stealing your 'MobileCage' code. :goodjob:
     
  7. cyther

    cyther Lord of the Dance

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,033
    Location:
    Fane of Lessers
    No, I don't mind at all. Did I include that code? Anyways it makes Acheron interesting...
     
  8. Turinturambar

    Turinturambar Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Messages:
    368
    Hey Cyther, since you are updating your mod again, I just wanted to give a heads-up that my AI mod has been updated.
     
  9. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    Planning on using it for a tweak to the Pristin Pass, now that improvements can generate Culture thanks to Ahwaric. ;)
     
  10. cyther

    cyther Lord of the Dance

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,033
    Location:
    Fane of Lessers
    Thanks I'll see if I can merge.

    Oooo, That's a great idea. I'll have to do that.
     
  11. Opera

    Opera Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,643
    Gender:
    Female
    Great to see that Rise of Darkness is back! :goodjob:
     
  12. razzach

    razzach Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Welcome back. :) Did you recover your source files?
     
  13. Jabie

    Jabie Wanted in Monte Carlo...

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    I can confirm that I am running Vista. Will your code be available from the link in the front page? If so, I'll report on my experiences on downloading installing it, when I get a chance.
     
  14. cyther

    cyther Lord of the Dance

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,033
    Location:
    Fane of Lessers
    Yeah, I switched to a new installer that finds Civ 4 now. The link on the first page will work right now.
     
  15. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    In case you're interested in what I'm doing with it:

    I'm thinking that a 4 tile culture range would make it MORE than worth it to capture them all, but you'd have to trade three good items for one, that can no longer leave the tile as he becomes a Fort Commander. ;)
     
  16. Willgar

    Willgar Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    308
    Looking foward to trying K :goodjob: Cyther, can you tell me what the procedure is needed to install it? Do i need to make a fresh copy of FfH 0.41g and rename it before applying the patch? or can i apply over your current patch J?
     
  17. cyther

    cyther Lord of the Dance

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,033
    Location:
    Fane of Lessers
    To install you should start off with a new version of FFH then install Rise of Darkness. You can patch to K from that.

    I used to include all changes from FFH patches so you never needed that but stopped at patch K because it was too big.
     
  18. Jabie

    Jabie Wanted in Monte Carlo...

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    The installer partially worked. The files were installed and I've got XML files which contain details about Nikito etc, but when I loaded the game I hit XML errors round about the same time it was parsing the events.
     
  19. Willgar

    Willgar Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    308

    So, just to clarify:

    1) Install Ffh2 and patch to 0.41g
    2) Rename the folder to Rise of Darkness v.22
    3) Install rise of Darkness v22 base files
    4) Install RoD patch k

    Is that correct? if it is, i am still getting xml error on load starting at the event files
     
  20. scutarii

    scutarii King

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    746

    You are doing everything right because of my "symptoms" are the same.

    Those XML errors are "more events mod" related, it seems.
     

Share This Page