Rise of the Mongols scenario. 50 turn Deity walk through.

lerrocco

Chieftain
I am new to civ 5 and steam, playing for domination victories and looking for ideas. I saw a screen shot from Henri https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/the-mongol-conquest.685053/

.. and misunderstood it to be from a standard game. It showed a side of civ I hadnt seen before, running big unhappiness and zero city growth. I couldnt work out how to get to that position when I realised it was a scenario with an advanced start. The mongols are fun to play so I looked at the scenario. Looking online I found a link to a game in Deity finished in 46 turns!

It is a strange link, but genuine, here is the text for the link, if you substitute 2 and 3 for the 1 at the end the url you have all 3 videos .. txthttps://www.bilibili.com/video/BV1D741117Lr?p=1 txt

Part 1 is above, .

Folk were excited as a deity win in the scenario unlocks many steam achievement badges, if that rocks your boat. Its also an easy domination deity victory, the keshiks are practically invulnerable as they retreat after attack.

I watched the videos through and copied the game strategy. Essentially meeting civs early, trading all their gold and declaring war the same time. After several turns they give a peace treaty with cities, and only the capitals have to be taken.

It is possible to follow the video step by step, exactly the same, and a 46 turn win is possible. I followed the strategy but not the detail and didn’t meet Russia soon enough, so I changed the game plan slightly and won easily on turn 55. With an early introduction to Russia I think the game is an easy win in 50 turns.

This is not my strategy or ideas, many of which are new to me, and I will now consider incorporating some ideas into my regular domination games. Here is enough info for a walk through: