1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Roads' pack

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Graphics Modpacks' started by ArneoKerdarun, Feb 28, 2006.

  1. ArneoKerdarun

    ArneoKerdarun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Nantes, France
    A pack of 6 new styles of roads. First to fourth (plus the last one) are based on road (primitiveroad.dss) and the fifth one is based on railroad (railroad_128.dss).

    1: Medieval paved way. [MedievalPavement.dds]
    2: Ancient road (could be roman road). [DarkerVia.dds]
    3: Same as 2 but more flashy. [BrightVia.dds]
    4: Paved road. [Pavement.dds]
    5: Motorway. [Motorway.dds]
    6: A muddy path. [Mudway.dds]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ArneoKerdarun

    ArneoKerdarun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Nantes, France
    Screenshot of the muddy path :
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Leonel

    Leonel Breakfast Connoisseur

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    10,348
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Neat stuff! :D Can the roads ingame update themselves to each of these roads respective to their era or is it just a one road for all ages deal?
     
  4. ArneoKerdarun

    ArneoKerdarun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Nantes, France
    Thank you leonel
    Those are just graphic changes, so if you use them as they are, they would replace the existing ones.
    Sure thing is that it must be possible to create new roads ingame with those graphics : something like going from muddy path to normal roads, then roman road, railroad and finaly motorway... Concerning the "auto-update", I can't say, you should ask python coders.
     
  5. Leonel

    Leonel Breakfast Connoisseur

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    10,348
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Well I definately think you should persue having the roads upgrade when a civ enters a new era! I'm sure some python coders would be happy to help you and the process should be somewhat simple to impliment. You know in Railroad Tycoon 3 there's an option to electrify all non-electric rail lines and it will take into account the percentage of non-electric rail lines there compared to electric rail lines? Something like that could be done and the changes would take effect within a civ's borders and if you gain more territory that has an older road, you can click a modernise button.
     

Share This Page