SMACX Thinker Mod

induktio

Chieftain
Looks like I have not yet posted a thread here about Thinker Mod for SMACX that I've been updating for many years. :)

At the beginning Thinker was mainly an AI improvement mod but the features have expanded greatly since then.
  • Includes Scient's patch, can be also used with several other mods
  • Possible to play SMAC-in-SMACX mod for more vanilla experience
  • Vastly improved production/terraforming AI
  • AI combat units are rewritten to use more variety in tactics
  • AI colony pods reach their destinations much more often
  • More config options for many previously fixed settings in the game engine
  • Many enhancements to random map generation/spawn locations
  • Visual changes on map rendering and other user interface additions
  • Some automation features are also available for player factions
While the homepage can be found on github, there's a separate feature backlog on discussions where I try to keep tabs on ideas that could be implemented later. There is also discord for mod discussions.

Direct links for downloads: release versions and develop builds.

Sometimes there are update announcements on reddit.com/r/alphacentauri/ but the latest news are on the project homepage.

Last edited:
Newest develop build includes some interesting visual changes on the base screen:
* If any satellites are active, bonuses from satellites are shown on bottom left corner.
* Nerve staple turns and upcoming drone riots warning is shown on right side corner.
* Captured base extra drone turns left is shown on the psych sub window (can be up to 50 turns).

Some of this stuff previously was not shown on the user interface at all, so could be useful.