[Solved] Coal Liquefaction - Possible?

naed21

Chieftain
I'm currently trying to see if I can get a Coal Liquefaction Building to work. I noticed that there is a Building_ResourceCosts table in sql so I tried a test building with Coal set as PerTurnMaintenanceCost as 4 and Oil as PerTurnMaintenanceCost as -1

As you can guess, its not working. The in game UI shows the Coal Accumulation as "+-2" and Oil as 0 (I got 2 Coal mines so +6 per turn, then I built 2 test buildings). There are two problems. 1) There appears to be a floor on the PerTurnMaintenanceCost property. 2) The maintenance cost doesn't appear like the Unit mainteance does and instead is added to the Accumulation total (instead of a seperate element).

Nothing else uses this table so I'm concerned that this was something not fully implemented. I'm new to modding Civ6 so I'd like to know would it be possible for me use Lua to add the functionality that I'm looking for (Either something new or modify how Building_ResourceCost works) or do I need to pray to the Devs that they add this functionality in a future update?

Edit: Success! https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=1660410526

Last edited:
for the oil, use a modifier. I don't think negative maintenance works.

Ok, so I found the Great Person Modifier for Oil. Which uses the Modifier: MODIFIER_SINGLE_CITY_ADJUST_FREE_RESOURCE_EXTRACTION

So now I just need to have it add that modifier when the building is created and then I have a project to remove the building, so I'll need to remove the modifier there. Sounds like it'll work.

Should I do the same for the Coal Consumption? I don't think I should be using that Building_ResourceCosts table at all considering that weird UI bug. I'll give it a try later tonight.

It's not a wierd bug so much as the UI file was not written to handle the conditions you are attempting. It was written as one building requires one type of resource, one unit requires one type of resource.