1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Star Trek Mod Pool

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Creation & Customization' started by Glorfinder, Dec 12, 2003.

?

Does The World Need A Star Trek Mod?

  1. Yes!! Very Fine Idea

    227 vote(s)
    87.6%
  2. I dont care

    19 vote(s)
    7.3%
  3. No!! Dont Even Try To Do That

    13 vote(s)
    5.0%
  1. Vadus

    Vadus pretend the impossible

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    Northern Germany
    ok, thanks. I'll try

    edit: wow, this fonts are looking really cool :goodjob:
     
  2. Adler17

    Adler17 Prussian Feldmarschall

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    5,341
    Location:
    Schleswig- Holstein. Germany
    Okay, I plan as next unit the Excelsior class. Or is someone doing it already?

    Adler
     
  3. Kenta'arka

    Kenta'arka King

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    Bridge of USS Rome
    nope, you can take it if you want. If you still can't find a working mesh, pm me, Morpheus once converted a .max mesh for me, you could use that one
     
  4. music_theory7

    music_theory7 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Honolulu
    Can I make some suggestions?:
    Limit the game to the parts of the Beta/Deta and the Alpha, cause the Delta didn't really affect the Star Trek Story in DS9, TNG.
    To the minor races I think the Gorn Confederation should be included, as they are between the Klingons and the Romulans and have been in wars with both.
    Also that terran science vessal (my avatar) I think it's the oberth class, is it possible to make it enhance science output? So the more science vessals you have the more science you generate. That way it could put a interesting spin on ships. I really wish the concept of spply crawlers in Sid Alpha Centauri was possible but it's not...

    Also does anyone know where the intersellar constortium is located? I think that would be great to add.
     
  5. Coinich

    Coinich Party Chairman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    588
    Location:
    Babylonian Socialist Republic
    The ISC is located to the far galactic east - to the east of the Gorn and Romulan empires. (Is this what you were asking?)
     
  6. Sucha_Soorma

    Sucha_Soorma Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    I'm wondering how far you guys are from finishing this?
    Also do you have one install file with everything in it so I don't have to get files seperately or do anything else other than unzip one folder into the ../scenarios folder.

    Thankyou.
     
  7. Kenta'arka

    Kenta'arka King

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    Bridge of USS Rome
    From finishing it? Far far away... :D
    But the next version isn't that far away, and that one will be just one file (tnx to Thunderfall)

    @music_theory7: There is just the Sol sector map yet, so I didn't thought much about the other maps yet (especially as we got noone to create more maps). Oh ands I don't think you can set units to increase science, this is not MOO2 ;)
     
  8. Kenta'arka

    Kenta'arka King

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    Bridge of USS Rome
    As promised: Version 0.7.0

    Changes:

    -New Terrain: Nebula
    -Some new techs
    -Civ-specific specialists
    -Omega weaponry
    -New playable race: Klingons
    -New playable race: Cardassians
    -New playable race: Dominion
    -Minosian Drone
    -Many new unit graphics

    Thanks to Thunderfall it's just one file this time (all graphics, etc included) with a size of 30.7 MB.

    If you got an older version:
    -Delete "Troop Transport" units folder, it's not needed anymore
    -Delete your old Star Trek_test.biq (if you still got one)

    Thanks to:
    Vadus for creating the city screen and an awesome nebula terrain (first, unfinished version)
    TheMorpheus and Adler17 for new unit graphics

    Star Trek Mod V0.7.0 (30.7 MB)

    Have fun!
     
  9. Smoking mirror

    Smoking mirror Ships Captain

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,018
    Location:
    On mars already, waiting!
    You could make a science vessel for use as the scientific great leader (in C3C). will look better than having einstein running around the map (though, looking at some star trek episodes, not totaly unrealistic). ;)
     
  10. grumbler

    grumbler Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    In front of the screen
    I get the following error with 0.7:
     
  11. Tzar Sasha

    Tzar Sasha Tzar of Nowheresville

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2003
    Messages:
    451
    Location:
    The Frozen Tundra
    Unfortunately, I missed the deadline... Didn't know there was one....

    Anywho, the Borg Tacticle Cube has been updated with thanks going to The Morpheous for his tutorial on OpenFX and for providing the 3D mesh. The animations are better and cooler looking. You can get it here.

    To put it in game and use with your current Borg ship sounds:
    1. Unzip BorgTAC3.zip file
    2. Copy all FLC files from the newly created BorgTAC directory to the scenarios/startrek/art/units/WHATEVER THE CURRENT NAME FOR THE TACTICLE CUBE IS directory.
    3. Edit current game INI to point to new FLC files and remove all other FLC file mentions.
    4. Save and your good to go.

    Alternatively you can
    1. Backup v7.0 units/Tacticle cube directory
    2. Copy unziped directory to scenarios/startrek/art/units directory and rename to that provided with v7.0
    3. Rename INI file and transfer sound files back into directory.
    4. Edit INI to point to sound files.

    Once I download v7.0, I can create a new zip file which will take care of this hassle for you.
     
  12. Kenta'arka

    Kenta'arka King

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    Bridge of USS Rome
    Hu? That shouldn't happen, I removed that building...
    Did you tried to load an old savegame?

    Then every race would have to get it's own SL, but thats not possible I think, additional, I don't think the AI would understand a naval SL. Maybe Einstein is a bit...old...but until someone comes up with a good idea, he's usable I think.
     
  13. Kenta'arka

    Kenta'arka King

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    Bridge of USS Rome
    @Tzar: Your first release of the new tacticle cube was just in time, so 0.7.0 uses the (old-)new default and the new attack, just not the death
     
  14. Tzar Sasha

    Tzar Sasha Tzar of Nowheresville

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2003
    Messages:
    451
    Location:
    The Frozen Tundra
    Okay folks forget my earlier post except that you can use it download the zip which contains the NEW death flc. Now in this case all you have to do is replace the older death flc with the newer one...
     
  15. grumbler

    grumbler Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    In front of the screen
    Checked again and this only happens with the "no conquer bonus" biq; the other one is fine.
     
  16. Sucha_Soorma

    Sucha_Soorma Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    Hey this is a really good mod. Just tried it out. Seems brilliant and cant wait for it to be finished.

    Just a few suggestions:

    Why do you have the Andor, Vulcan, and Tellerite homeworld in a corner? Why not let them play as normal civs?
    You could just make one generic ship for all minor races, and change its size depending which class it fits into (i.e. Destroyer, Warship, etc.). And it should then be easy to give different values for the ships from the editor or even give them a generic set of values depending on which class it fits into.
    Or better still make one ship for each important minor race and change its size depending upon class, and have even further races with just the generic units (which can be quite weak?).

    Also you could not give them the colonization program, which so far seems to be the only thing that lets you expand.

    I'm wondering just how big is this mod going to be? Maybe once you have all the races and units finished you could do a massive map. Any chance of a random map working?

    Finally a more updated civlopedia, which i'm sure you are aware of.

    Well I wish all of you good luck in completing this project, and I really look forward to playing it once finished.
     
  17. Kenta'arka

    Kenta'arka King

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    Bridge of USS Rome
    If I would allow the minor races to play like normal civs, they would need a set of unit, which
    - increases the already high number of units in game more
    - needs more unit graphics
    Additional I want to represent the minor race system of BotF (if you know that game) the homeworlds are just there to make the other system buyable, usually in game you can't reach them.
    Anyway the minor races will get some ships (if we can get the needed meshes) someday.
    Minors aren't able to build the Colon Program, as they didn't got the needed recources, and yes, it's the only way to get settlers.
    Random maps will never work with this, just because of the way maps need to be created.
    Goldflash is (hopefully) still working on the Pedia, but until it's finished, there are some texts files in the mod folder, with units, buildings and wonders lists (not 100% up to date I fear)
     
  18. Kenta'arka

    Kenta'arka King

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    Bridge of USS Rome
    ups, my fault, I included the wrong file :crazyeye:

    Here is the correct file:

    EDIT: File removed, see later post
     
  19. grumbler

    grumbler Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    In front of the screen
    Great, thanks. :)
     
  20. Vadus

    Vadus pretend the impossible

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    Northern Germany
    Hi, I've played the new version today, and there appeared some thinks :
    I made a list of them :

    Game : "no conquer bonus"
    Player : Klingon Empire

    1. Ships: I'm able to build all Klingon and Federation Ships
    2. Homeplanets of Minor_Races are not right build (mixture of LM and normal Terrain)
    3. In the City-Sreen, above : City founded : DecDecDecDecDecDecDec...
    4. Medical Complex should need Bioshere
    5. Valiant Class cloakable ??
    6. K'Vort Class is pretty slow (2 Movement with! Warp 5 Komplex)
     

Share This Page