1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Stopping enemy spaceships and enemy capitals

Discussion in 'Civ2 - General Discussions' started by civ007, Jul 2, 2001.

  1. civ007

    civ007 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 28, 2001
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    I'm not sure if this subject exists somewhere. I didn't come across it when I searched.

    How do you stop an enemy spaceship after it has been launched. It used to be that you just destroy the capital city. (Or capture or whatever). However, I was playing a game where whenever I captured that city the capital would escape to another city.

    Does anyone know what to do in this case.

    (Is there a way to prevent the capital from moving when the city is captured?)
     
  2. starlifter

    starlifter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2001
    Messages:
    4,212
    You need to continue chasing the AI capital down and killing it. The ship will not be destroyed if the capital moves.

    If you kill you own capital (like size 1 building a settler/eng) after the SS is launched, the AI would need to destroy your entire civ to make your SS "return".


    You need to get the AI treasury below 1,000 gold. You may well need to plunder multiple capitals. BTW, you can also stop the capital from moving if you kill all the other AI cities it could move to .
     
  3. Kev

    Kev Hired Goon

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2001
    Messages:
    1,895
    Location:
    Ringwood, NJ USA
    Well civ007, I've been there before.

    I know that it can be frustrating to play "chase the capital" as the enemy spaceship gets closer and closer to AC.

    Basically, the AI is spending cash to build a new palace in a different city, and therefore establishing a new capital. Only a few things will stop this:

    1. I think that a new palace costs the AI about 1,000 gold. If you destroy enough cities/capitals their gold reserves will drop to the point where they finally cannot afford another.
    2. Obviously, If you take out their last city there will be no more civ and no more spaceship.

    Normally, if you are trying to stop a civ's ship from landing, then the odds of obliterating the enemy are low, and you'll just have to wheedle their funds down.

    I have heard that even with the needed amount of money sometimes the AI will not build a new palace right away. I am not sure if there are other factors that may influence this, but I am sure there will be answers after mine with more details and suggestions.


    ------------------
    Diplomacy - the art of
    saying "Good Doggie"
    until you can find a rock
     
  4. Cunobelin Of Hippo

    Cunobelin Of Hippo Site Pachyderm

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    2,087
    Location:
    The muddy shallows
    When I get into the space race, I always keep a healthy supply of nukes available for such a situation...hehehe. And spies. Poison the crap out of the 'new' capitals and weaken their resistance!
     
  5. Az

    Az Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,369
    Location:
    Athenes, Grece

    There's even worse................!

    Sometimes the AI has TWO capitals!!!!

    ------------------
    <IMG SRC="http://www.virtuallandmedia.com/img1/flags-4/europe/fra.gif" border=0> Az <IMG SRC="http://www.virtuallandmedia.com/img1/flags-4/europe/gre.gif" border=0>
     
  6. starlifter

    starlifter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2001
    Messages:
    4,212

    It is possible to have more than one capital... each is unbribeable, ands with out corruption, and the computer seems to calculate the distance to the nearest capital for corruption computations. To get more than one Capital takes a certain set of circumstances of the AI already building a capital & finishing it as one is "awarded" for a prior loss of capital. Normally, it's almost impossible to find the right circumstances for this to happen, but I did see it once. On the Diplomance screen, intelligence, cities... you'll see the word capital next to two different cities, and can verify it by using a spy to go have a looksy. If they are in republic, take a look at the corruption/waste, too... that's a great advatage, if humans could figure out how to build 2 at the same time!
     
  7. Kev

    Kev Hired Goon

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2001
    Messages:
    1,895
    Location:
    Ringwood, NJ USA
    Strangely enough, I posted something with the title "TWO Capitals" a few days ago here in the general discussion. It was surely interesting.



    ------------------
    Diplomacy - the art of
    saying "Good Doggie"
    until you can find a rock
     
  8. Warlord56

    Warlord56 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    268
    Location:
    in my chair half asleep and wonderi
    I usually stop the AI from launching a spaceship anyway, so though I couldn't really help you, I suggest destroying other civs early
     
  9. starlifter

    starlifter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2001
    Messages:
    4,212

    I went back and found it:
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/Forum1/HTML/000450.html

    It was posted July 01, 2001 06:59 PM


    After reading that post, I realized exactly where I'd recently seen something similar... I was playing the small calssic map of Sten Sture's called 4 Whales, and had decided to defeat the world within the confines of the OCC format. Whe I captured the Chinese capital, I later noticed they had 2 capitals. Since my own self-imposed rules were that a single city must defeat and utterly destroy every other city in the world, it made no real difference in my attack progression (e.g., I was not counting on bribing cities).

    I will make a quick post in that thread, too, so others won't think you're seeing things with 2 capitals.
     
  10. Simon Darkshade

    Simon Darkshade Mysterious City of Gold

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2001
    Messages:
    10,275
    Location:
    Daisy Hill Puppy Farm
    The answer is simple: Massive nuclear and carrier based air strikes, backed up by a quick offensive. Hit 'em hard in one turn, and you won't have to worry about them shifting capitals; they'll just concentrate on survival.
    If you need to go capital hunting, make sure you have a lot of force. Go all out to shut em down, forgetting your own progress.
    War is the #1 objective.

    ------------------
    Whether you like it or not, history is on our side. We will bury you.
    - N.S.Khrushchev
     
  11. Blake00

    Blake00 Chieftain Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Messages:
    212
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    Does difficulty level have an impact on this?

    When I used to play Deity back in the 90s I remember having similar problems as described by you guys (practically having to annihilate an entire Civ just stop stop the spaceship). However I recently returned to Civ after nearly 20yrs, decided to play it safe and have a game at Prince level.

    Mongols launched a spaceship in the 1800s which surprised me considering the difficulty level haha (I'm holding off launching mine as I want a higher score). So I nuked their capital and paradropped in, I got no 'capital moving' message despite them having 2 grand in cash, and their spaceship was destroyed.

    My celebrations over how easy this ended up being were short lived however as now they are building another spaceship yet according to my intelligence report they do NOT have a new capital. How the hell do you stop a spaceship if they don't have a capital anymore???
     
  12. Major Advantage

    Major Advantage Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi, I am not sure if there is a way to stop the spaceship. But I have no idea what happens, if you destroy (or assimilate) that civ, might be interesting to find out. The easiest way would be to read through all the tips and tricks in this forum and you would not find yourself in this situation. ;)

    BTW, this is also a technique to prevent your own spaceship from returning: Just tear down your capital and do not build a new palace.
     
  13. Blake00

    Blake00 Chieftain Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Messages:
    212
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Australia
    Oh sorry, I should have pointed out that I'm having more of a deliberate 'pacifist peacekeeper' game. I've been way ahead of the AIs since the dark ages and could have killed them off easily haha. But I haven't played Civ 2 in like 20yrs so I really wanted to experience all the techs, buildings, units, wonder videos, advisor videos (man have I missed them haha) and go for the space victory right before retirement. But these pesky AIs keep 'forcing my hand' by launching their own ships which I didn't expect to happen so early in a prince level game haha.

    Yup I know the old protect your own ship trick thanks. :) Shouldn't need it though as my capital is very safe.

    Well sure enough the Mongols built and luanched another space ship and I thought I'd be in trouble, but then the next friggin turn they rebuilt their capital allowing me to unleash hell again hahaha! That was lucky lol!
     

Share This Page