1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Sudden Trade Cancellations

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Leventis, Aug 14, 2007.

  1. Black Whole

    Black Whole Dancing Condor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    Theatre of Dreams
    Well, this happened often to me but something strange happened.

    I was playing India and I was fighting a war against Kublai Khan (damn backstabber...) over centuries. I had two friends, Elizabeth and Boudicca, which couldn't stand Kublai either. They didn't want to join the war, so I had to do it myself. But once, as soon as I hit enter, everyone declared war on me!

    There weren't any pacts or such, the Apostlic Palace has been built (but I didn't know the owner).
     
  2. eric_

    eric_ Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,725
    Location:
    Riverdale, MD
    Ah, that sounds vaguely familiar. Does this cut both ways? Is the AI forced into a Peace Treaty if they ask something of you and receive it?

    At any rate, I believe I had made some tech trades with Peter shortly before this happened. I'll check the save.

    Thanks!
     
  3. Spearthrower

    Spearthrower Thrower of spears

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,607
    Location:
    Bangkok
    There really are a lot of conventional possibilities as to why this happened - you'd need to look in the WB to absolutely verify..... but let's not jump to calling it a bug eh?

    I've had it happen when trade has been blocked by routes (i.e. Privateers blockading or port cities being captured.... I've had the Stop Trading with the Infidels.

    As for the reason why you can start trading again next turn, think about this from another perspective. How many times in game have you seen a situation where one of your friendly civs has the only 3 wheats in the world.... they are trading 2 of them to other friends and 1 to an "infidel" - one of your enemies but one of their friends. They wont cancel the deal because they "couldn't betray their close friends".

    As the player, if you built the AP you can get your religious friends to cancel all deals giving you a single turn to snatch that wheat deal back before they trade it out again.

    Also remember, that resolution makes the target civ have a negative diplo hit for every civ that cancelled on them as well as removing the positive diplo points of "open borders" and "appreciate the years you supplied us with resources". Getting your religious friends to repeatedly cancel their deals on the infidel sets up nice bloques for you to work with later when everyone goes to Free Religion.
     
  4. mjs0

    mjs0 The 4th X

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Central Florida
    I think this is spot on.
    I have seen this happen several times and on one occasion a deal was cancelled in a suspicious manner like this (via a sea/coastal route) and it turned out it was blockaded by a privateer.

    When this (a blockade) happens there is no warning, no communication from the other Civ just a deal cancelled message in the status area.

    If it were the AP vote you would have to wait a number of turns to reestablish the deals with the AP members until the no trading with the infidel vote expires.
     
  5. eric_

    eric_ Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,725
    Location:
    Riverdale, MD
    Based on the original post, this would mean that all coastal cities of multiple civs were blockaded at once, and then the blockades were immediately lifted, re-allowing the trades to be established on the same turn...
     
  6. mjs0

    mjs0 The 4th X

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Yup, I thought about that...:)

    This could easily happen if the trade routes were through a single port city at either end or across a single explored area of ocean.
    The blockade could easily be lifted if another AI sunk the privateer later during the same turn.

    ...however...on to what I hadn't considered...:blush:

    I just realised that blockades don't affect open border agreements so that can't be the answer anyway. :(
     
  7. Colee

    Colee Father Of All Bombs

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    Okay, so it was definitely the AP then. But having a "trade embargo" which lasts only 1 turn? Not even 1 turn, in fact, because it's possible to re-negotiate deals immediately? I don't think it was intended to work this way.
     
  8. kurtkage

    kurtkage Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    USA
    First of all, this happened to me multiple times in the game in question. It was only a couple of turns apart between deal canceled, to me this means it could not be the AP as you cannot pass resolutions that close together right? And then the whole 1 turn embargo thing tops it off.

    I'm doubting that this was a blockade either as it was an archi map with many coastal cities. I'm having trouble believing the AI managed to blockade 6+ coastal cities, though I suppose it IS a possible explanation.

    To be more clear on what happened, I had Friendly relations with America. Was trading Cow and Hit singles for american Corn and Gems. Also had open borders. All of a sudden I noticed that I was missing the corn, so I contact america and it seems they have been canceled. I redo the Same trade, and open borders. Next turn they cancel again, no contact from America telling me This deal is off, just cancels in the event spam. Happened probably 4-5 times with varying time between 1-2 turns. Then it stopped happening the rest of the game.

    The strange thing is that other civs would not sign OB with me again for several turns after canceling , while america would at first, then on the 2nd or 3rd time America would not sign them either. I moused over the red open borders and it said something like "Not right now, maybe in a few years".

    Eventually this all stopped and things were back to normal shrug.

    Unfortunatly I don't think I have a save but I will look.
     
  9. the_elf

    the_elf Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    It would be nice if there was some kind of notification of "Trade routes blocked by enemy Privateer," or something like that. At least then you would know what was at play. I kinda wish that you'd see the same thing when fur and ivory obsolete.
     
  10. Spearthrower

    Spearthrower Thrower of spears

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,607
    Location:
    Bangkok
    It's not an embargo - it's a cessation of trade.... which has pretty powerful diplomatic effects (loss of 2 positive diplo points and gain 1 negative diplo points for a potential relative hit of -3 diplomacy between those civs).
     
  11. FrancisMarion

    FrancisMarion Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    90
    Another example of the AP doing it's job... to annoy the player to no end.
     
  12. SickCycle

    SickCycle Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    376
    Location:
    Greatest Country in the World
    It could of been as someone already stated a blockade?

    It could of been privateers so no war would of been declared? It may not of affected all your trade routes because maybe a few of the trades that were coming in weren't connected to all your cities, connected by a certain river or coastal area and a barb or AI used privateers to cut the trade on you or the other AI's.
     
  13. mjs0

    mjs0 The 4th X

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Yes, but as I realised after posting the same idea...blockading with privateers cannot cut open border agreements (which the OP also lost), only resource trading.
     
  14. Leventis

    Leventis Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    262
    Yes, and to add further, each of the civs had several (7 or 8) coastal cities each and I doubt they had that many privateers at the time anyway. Furthermore, could anyone suggest why some of the trades I had going were unaffected? As I recall I had a sheep for clam, and a gpt for fish deal that stayed in tact, while everything else disappeared

    The more posts I'm reading here, the more inclined I am to think it was a bug rather than the AP, and I'm 99.99% certain it wasn't blockades.
     
  15. DomA

    DomA Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    That's weird if it's the AP. Early on I voted for one embargo without realising the costs, and it took a full ten turns before I could re-open trade with the targeted civ again.

    So far, my experience with blockades is that they don't affect traded ressources nor OB, only foreign trade routes. I'm guessing all coastal trade routes of a civ on another continent would need to be blockaded before ressources can't be traded, and I'm not sure it's how it works.
     
  16. LegionSteve

    LegionSteve Motörhead

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    England
    If it's not a blockade and it's not the AP, then maybe it is a bug. You could post the save game in the bug reports forum and ask them to have a look at it?
     
  17. Leventis

    Leventis Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    262
    Yeah, I'm thinking that too, but we'll wait a bit longer to see if anyone else can come up with any more ideas.
     
  18. Quagga

    Quagga Former Dictator

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    663
    Location:
    Li'l Rhody
    I too think it is the AP: After reading this thread, I'm now convinced I was also seeing the other side of this in the game I'm currently playing. The AP vote to stop trading with Asoka kept coming up and coming up Yes. My trades with him would be cancelled. Then he'd be immediately on my doorstep asking me to re-establish them (which I would do every time, since I was also a No voter).

    I think that the AP trade boycott is not working correctly.
     
  19. DomA

    DomA Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    It's possible - there are some weird things with the votes.

    When someone defies a resolution, does it automatically make it fail?

    I had some of them which should have succeeded (eg: Fails! Total : 1195 votes. Needed 790 votes). I often don't bother to read all the results, but all the times I noticed this I think there was someone defying the resolution. I thought all it did (beside the penalty) was that the civ that defied the resolution wasn't bound by it even if it passed.

    If one civ defying it is enough to make a resolution fail and it's not a bug, it's actually a veto and quite a bit overpowered considering the consequences aren't that bad.
     
  20. Orion071

    Orion071 Home School Tutor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    546
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    I also had all of my trades with Roosevelt cancelled out of the blue in my last game. I re-established them the next turn. It couldn't have been the AP because I was running the proper state religion so I was a full member and never saw a vote. Also I was the only one with the tech for Privateers so it couldn't have been a blockade either. Just one of those quirky BTS things I guess.
     

Share This Page