Super Earth Map (MGE & ToT) by Denis Kozhin

DaggerDigwillow

Reading: The Authority Gap by Mary Sieghart
Joined
Dec 8, 2013
Messages
200
TOTPP allows for maps with 32k tiles while fantasy/Sci Fi allow for 4 maps. Using 32k premade maps you could get 128k tiles across those maps. Modding the game files you could add extra maps to get 4 maps total. I don't know if you can go beyond 4 maps but 128k tiles is freaken rediculous. I'm currently playing a 32k map on extended original and haven't reached AC yet and I have several hundred cities and a few thousand units. I really like the huge earth map and will probably use it in a future attempt at 4 maps on the extended original when I have time to go through the game files and add the extra maps.
 

Rui_TNV

Warlord
Joined
Aug 10, 2019
Messages
102
TOTPP allows for maps with 32k tiles while fantasy/Sci Fi allow for 4 maps. Using 32k premade maps you could get 128k tiles across those maps. Modding the game files you could add extra maps to get 4 maps total. I don't know if you can go beyond 4 maps but 128k tiles is freaken rediculous. I'm currently playing a 32k map on extended original and haven't reached AC yet and I have several hundred cities and a few thousand units. I really like the huge earth map and will probably use it in a future attempt at 4 maps on the extended original when I have time to go through the game files and add the extra maps.
Hi.

I'm in the same boat as you... when and if you have time to go thought the game files let me know...

By the way how many cities and units do you have in the game you are currently playing?
 

DaggerDigwillow

Reading: The Authority Gap by Mary Sieghart
Joined
Dec 8, 2013
Messages
200
Hi.

I'm in the same boat as you... when and if you have time to go thought the game files let me know...

By the way how many cities and units do you have in the game you are currently playing?
Will do. It'll probably be late December or early January but I'll put a keep note pinned on my schedule to remind me to reach out to you when I start working on it.

354 cities 2454 units
 

DaggerDigwillow

Reading: The Authority Gap by Mary Sieghart
Joined
Dec 8, 2013
Messages
200
Alright, so I finished up my Ex Original Supermap (32k tiles) and have moved on to making the Ext Original x4 maps using the Super Earth. So far so good. I was able to edit the rules and add 4 maps but the game kept wanting to swap out the graphics and units for Sci-fi stuff. No idea why because I didn't use anything from the Sci-Fi folder nor is it saved in a sci-fi folder as I created its own folder. Eventually, I just placed it in the extended original folder which made the maps work great. I did later decide to use the terrain graphics from the orbit of the sci-fi folder and moon terrain graphics from part of the mod database here on civ fanatics. Kept Centaurus the same but changed it from map 2 to map 4. So far so good.

The units though were a real pain in the petunia. Again it kept trying to replace them with sci-fi units despite not having a sci-fi units.bmp in the folder. I switched the files around between the Original and Extended Original folders which seem to reference the original folder. After replacing and customizing the bmp files multiple times and trying to figure out what was going on I finally decided to swap everything out for fantasy units.bmp and then switch them back. Somewhere in that mess, it seems to have sorted itself out but I've really got no idea what was causing the problem or why units were glitching into sci-fi units throughout that whole process. There must be some kind of reference to the sci-fi folder units somewhere in the files but being as I never opened the sci-fi folder during the creation process and I can't find anything in the game folder I really don't know what that was all about. I mention it here in case somebody else experiences the same thing and hopefully my experience can help them.
 

Rui_TNV

Warlord
Joined
Aug 10, 2019
Messages
102
Alright, so I finished up my Ex Original Supermap (32k tiles) and have moved on to making the Ext Original x4 maps using the Super Earth. So far so good. I was able to edit the rules and add 4 maps but the game kept wanting to swap out the graphics and units for Sci-fi stuff. No idea why because I didn't use anything from the Sci-Fi folder nor is it saved in a sci-fi folder as I created its own folder. Eventually, I just placed it in the extended original folder which made the maps work great. I did later decide to use the terrain graphics from the orbit of the sci-fi folder and moon terrain graphics from part of the mod database here on civ fanatics. Kept Centaurus the same but changed it from map 2 to map 4. So far so good.

The units though were a real pain in the petunia. Again it kept trying to replace them with sci-fi units despite not having a sci-fi units.bmp in the folder. I switched the files around between the Original and Extended Original folders which seem to reference the original folder. After replacing and customizing the bmp files multiple times and trying to figure out what was going on I finally decided to swap everything out for fantasy units.bmp and then switch them back. Somewhere in that mess, it seems to have sorted itself out but I've really got no idea what was causing the problem or why units were glitching into sci-fi units throughout that whole process. There must be some kind of reference to the sci-fi folder units somewhere in the files but being as I never opened the sci-fi folder during the creation process and I can't find anything in the game folder I really don't know what that was all about. I mention it here in case somebody else experiences the same thing and hopefully my experience can help them.
Does it work smoothly now? Can you post some screenshots of the various maps?
 

DaggerDigwillow

Reading: The Authority Gap by Mary Sieghart
Joined
Dec 8, 2013
Messages
200
Does it work smoothly now? Can you post some screenshots of the various maps?
I placed the project on the back burner. Ended up having a lot of problems with the scenario referencing the sci fi files despite it using the Ex Orig files.
 
Top Bottom