[NFP] Support and Attention for the Console Versions of Civ6

InsidiousMage

Emperor
First, I would like to say that pre-New Frontier Pass I would have given the PS4 version of the game a solid 8/10. I started playing on the Switch and had problems on that console (one time a city center vanished from the map but the city was still there) and the occasional crash but figured the game would run better on the PS4 so I rebought the base game along with the expansions when they were released on the PS4 and the game ran better though there were still the occasional but far fewer crashes and problems. Civ 6 is a complex game made for the PC and fully porting all of the functionality of the game, especially all of the tiny details like the breakdown of your gold income, was going to be a challenge if not impossible given the limitations of consoles. The game was functional and fun to play even if the menus were occasionally kind of sluggish and there was no map search function, as far as I can tell.

However, that changed somewhere along the way during the NFP. For me personally that was with the Gaul and Byzantium Pack. The game kept crashing in the late game and got progressively worse as time went on and sometimes a game would get to a point where a specific turn could not be finished because there would always be a crash no matter what you did. This latest update mostly solved the crashing problem for me but it still happened to me on a huge sized map although in a very reduced form.