Waves of Addiction

Zaimejs

Emperor
I was just wondering if anyone plays this game like I do. I'll forget about it and not play it for a month. Then I'll fire up a game and completely lose myself for a few hours creating an empire.

I don't finish very many games because if I quit, I rarely reload because I have forgotten what I was doing and what was going on. It's also so fun to start from nothing.

I am a teacher looking forward to break to just spend 24 hours on a giant map on my desktop. I play on my laptop, but it is underpowered, so I only play small or tiny maps.

Waves of addiction.

I've been mostly forcing myself away from this game during this semester, but when I get in to Civ, I get really in to civ. I am looking forward to the break in part because I plan on getting really in to this game again, but I also have months at a time where I don't play it.

I'm basically the same way, except it's been a few months since I've played. If I get myself back into it, however, I won't be doing anything else for a couple days/weeks, so I'd rather focus on other stuff for the moment. I'll probably mess around with it more once the new DLC hits, assuming it's a Civ.

It's also so fun to start from nothing.
This is, to me, the best part of the game. Building, expanding, exploring the world, taming the countryside, creating a functional, efficient civilization from scratch. I regularly succumb to Just-one-more-turn-itis and my early games turn into all-nighters. But by the time the Industrial Era rolls around, the game feels like a repetitious grind. By the Information Era, I have to force myself to keep playing, the fact that the Finish Line is in sight being the only thing keeping me playing.

I am making a transition from emperor to multiplayer games because when I play immortal games, I don't seem to hold that much interest. It is indeed a massive jump, from emperor to immortal.