1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

What is the best use of spies?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by avl8, Jun 29, 2012.

  1. avl8

    avl8 Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    356
    Ive played on emperor difficulty, mb thats the cause?
     
  2. Barghaest

    Barghaest King

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Yeah, AI might get a boost to chance of success with spies in higher diffs. Not checked that. Still trying to figure out if changing any of the espionage settings does anything (appears meaningless in adjusting an existing game - unlike most other settings - might be set when spy is acquired, not sure).
     
  3. smallfish

    smallfish Immortal

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2,968
    Putting them in cities that I'm trying to take. They are extremely useful recon units in that regard, and it gets better in the later eras when you have Bombers.
     
  4. flairin

    flairin Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    413
    I'd keep the first in your capital if tech leader of course, then try to get to other eras super fast so you could pick up a few other spies. If you are playing tall you could keep them in your cities then send out 2 or 3 to rig elections, etc. I had one game where I was super tall founding three cities with spies in them and four others out causing chaos in the mid 200's.

    If you kill off the other civs' spies then I guess you don't have to worry about them stealing techs...
     
  5. StrideColossus

    StrideColossus Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    In addition to all the above suggestions - spies are a nice alternative for currying favour with city states with quests that don't align with your goals, e.g. they might want you to build a specific wonder that you're not interested in, send in the spies...
     
  6. Muscu

    Muscu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Right now I'm friend with Spain and Japan. Spain is plotting against Japan, so I told them: boost of friendship with Japan. Will Spain be mad at me or can we assume that they will never know I talked?
     
  7. Moriarte

    Moriarte Immortal

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,871
    Last game i had them moved into two mercantile CS's as soon as they appeared. That action yielded +30 happiness without the need for further gifts (situational?) and allowed me to grow very fast (no need for ND thank god) and launch @ t.281 on immortal. Built police station and constabulary in Cap.
     
  8. avl8

    avl8 Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    356
    That was a nice idea!

    Ive did this in my emperor game and got 2 CS from my opponent. Bad news 2 other civ get 2 my CS from me meanwhile :(

    Can we protect our friendly CS with our spies to counter rig elections/coup?
    And how can we prevent it from happening?
     
  9. greggbert

    greggbert Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    176
    Spies only level up when they steal tech or kill enemeis, so foreign city tech spying should be your #1 priority. If you have spies positioned in all the possible places you could possibly steal tech, then put your highest level one in your capital or most populous city to kill enemies. If you have 2 counterspies and have gotten all the available techs, then putting them in city states might be worth it. I do that rarely, even when I have 4-5 spies.

    Also, never move a spy into a city state until just before the election. Rigging is about length of time that the spy is in the CS along with the comparative levels of the spies. If someone else is using a spy in a CS It's not worth it to put yours in no matter what. You can't get points for exposing them.
     
  10. Death_Slayer77

    Death_Slayer77 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    india


    they are better used as an diplomat after the world congress has been founded or if you
    are the leading civ in the game and got no techs to steal
    :hammer:
     
  11. VainoValkea

    VainoValkea Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,569
    Location:
    The Harsh North
    I use spies as counterintelligence if I'm tech leader. The AI usually doesn't seem to bother to steal from cities other than the capital for some reason, so one is enough, maybe two for protecting a separate "science capital" as well.

    Otherwise I spy on the guy who's beelining a different part of the three and pick lots of techs that way. And send some spies to rig and coup CS's. Diplomats are something of a bore, they can be used in the early game to gain a permanent foothold in the WC but after that it's usually easy to dominate even without buying votes.
     
  12. wcbarney

    wcbarney Know-it-all

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    524
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    In my current game (immortal, huge map), when I was about 7 out of 12 in the tech demographic, I finally managed to beeline a tech that nobody else had -- dynamite. I was rather amazed that this new tech was stolen about five times within the next 4-5 turns. I think all civs had 2-3 spies, but why would any of them have wasted a spy on me?:confused:
     
  13. tedoll78

    tedoll78 aka 'HylianTom' :)

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    New Orleans!
    If I'm tech leader, my first spy gets posted in the capital.

    After the founding of the World Congress, I then beeline to the next era to gain another spy ASAP, and begin sending him/her from leader to leader, schmoozing for votes.
     
  14. Walter R

    Walter R Great Engineer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    713
    Location:
    England
    Spies just bloody annoy me! I turn them off unless I'm playing as England, in which case I use a tip someone on the forum gave me: keep a lower level tech undiscovered and then go and steal it - won't take v long and levels your spy. I keep in capital after that and use other to maintain an allied CS.
     
  15. VainoValkea

    VainoValkea Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,569
    Location:
    The Harsh North
    What's annoying about spies? The worst they can do to you is stage a coup, which is expensive and risky business for them as well.
     
  16. Walter R

    Walter R Great Engineer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    713
    Location:
    England
    This!
     
  17. njmfff

    njmfff Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    452
    the standard of "how many of those gd enemy spies I have in my city?" moment.

    In the last few games, I found that dropping spies in CS all over the place and couping them is funniest thing to do. It completely messes up the AI's CS grab. :lol:

    Drop in one CS, leave it for a few turns to rig election so you can get influence boost, do quest if possible, coup, move spy into another CS, repeat the process. :lol:

    I especially love doing this to Alex. He always throws a tantrum at me for taking his "favorite CS" :lol:
     
  18. Socratatus

    Socratatus Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,636
    I just wish I could tell a spy not to steal Tech when in a city. I want to spy, but I don`t want to risk being caught stealing tech, especially if a powerful Nation.
     
  19. njmfff

    njmfff Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    452
    Then send him as diplomat? Does the same thing as spy, only without stealing tech.
     
  20. Walter R

    Walter R Great Engineer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    713
    Location:
    England
    ...Creating a multi film franchise for Eon Productions over 40 years?
     

Share This Page