1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Why river connection works without "sailing" technology

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by iamzyp, Aug 2, 2015.

  1. iamzyp

    iamzyp Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    I'm a newbie for BTS (not entirely since I managed to win in noble level:lol:). But I have a maybe minor but serious question about the city/resource connection by river.

    I'm playing BTS 3.19. My question is: Why my two cities can be connected without "sailing" tech? Please see attached screenshots and the save file. The second city York is connected to the capital. But I haven't researched the "sailing" tech. And according to the description of "sailing", it enables the connection through river. :confused:
    no sailing0000.JPG

    yet connected0000.JPG

    It maybe a minor problem, but sometimes, this will affect the order of tech I should research. For example, two cities are nearby river, one city is sitting on an important resource, then I don't need to research road, or even "sailing" to enable to connection?

    Thanks for you attention and help.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Seraiel

    Seraiel Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7,954
    Gender:
    Male
  3. iamzyp

    iamzyp Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Many many thanks! Has it ever mentioned in civpedia.... Sounds like a small bug...
     
  4. Abegweit

    Abegweit Anarchist trader

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,829
    Location:
    One step ahead of the authorities
    It's by design. You might view Sailing as the tech which makes ships sophisticated enough to sail outside your borders.
     
  5. Drakarska

    Drakarska Epic Dadness

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,555
    Location:
    Twilight Zone
    You Sir, have an excellant sense of irony. A heartfelt +1 on your sig :goodjob:.
     
  6. iamzyp

    iamzyp Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Why irony:goodjob: I think this explanation makes perfect sense! Thanks all!!:lol:
     
  7. Abegweit

    Abegweit Anarchist trader

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,829
    Location:
    One step ahead of the authorities
    It's strange. Even though the authorities listen, they never seem to catch up... As for me, I just ignore them and live my life the way I choose. So far it's worked pretty well.
     
  8. oranje willem

    oranje willem Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Another reason why a riverside start is so much better than one without
     
  9. MilesBeyond

    MilesBeyond Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    422
    Similarly, IIRC ocean tiles can be worked and navigated prior to discovering Astronomy so long as they're in your cultural borders. I remembered being annoyed, assuming that I had to wait until I teched Astronomy to start whaling, only to discover that in fact it's unnecessary so long as the Whales are in your borders.
     
  10. elmurcis

    elmurcis Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,053
    Location:
    Latvia
    On some maps "ocean bridges" (ocean tiles inside your borders next to coast tile other side) are key elements of the game (that can be difference between win and lose) :) If you can get to AI land but (s)he can't get back, you get safety from attacks (so you can refuse demands etc., atleast until Astro) + all trade routes you can get without giving any trade routes to AI (Ai will tech atleast some % slower with this situation :D )
     
  11. MilesBeyond

    MilesBeyond Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    422
    Plus Work Boats can duck into Ocean tiles to escape Galleys and Triremes. Always a fun way to thwart pirates.
     

Share This Page