1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Working Civ5 Multiplayer WITH MODS

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Creation & Customization' started by Helpful dude, Jan 15, 2014.

  1. Helpful dude

    Helpful dude Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    I'm not sure if this will be a "slowpoke" thread, but i couldn't find it anywhere else on the forums, so here goes:

    Guys, i found a way to play Civ5 ANY Multiplayer with mods.
    Seriously, i am so happy that i finally found it after searching non-stop hours of ways to pull that off, so i can play modded Civ5 game with a buddy of mine without using Hotseat "email" system. (that sounds like an awful way to turn a 3h game into 3 day game)

    How i did it:

    Simply, actually.
    I just made it so that the mod is part of a DLC, i'm currently using, but the problem is that the other guy(s), that you are playing with, will also have to do this.

    * Find the DLC folder
    SteamApps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization V\Assets\DLC

    * Choose an Expansion where you will store all mods. (In my case i chose Expansion2, which is a folder for BraveNewWorld expansion)

    * Drops mod folders anywhere in the Folder. (I dropped mods right in the Expansion2 folder, and renamed the MOD folders to "Moderator Action: name_of_the_mod", so it's easier for the eyes and so that all mods are listed one after another)

    *Back up original CIV5PKG file, or rename it with additional text and leave it there.
    (CIV5PKG file is the file that's named after the DLC folder, you opened || you don't really have to do this, because there is absolutely nothing changed in original, just few lines of text added, which can be deleted to get back original form, but it's easier to just keep the original as it is)

    *copy & edit CIV5PKG file. (Edit it using text editor, like notepad for example)

    In my case i added these mods:
    "MOD]Barbarians - Unlimited Exp (v 2)" && Moderator Action: Promotions - Expansion Pack (v 8)"

    And in both of them there is an XML file:
    *"Barb - exp"
    *"PEP - INIT"

    SO ALL I DID WAS ADDED:

    <GameData>PEP - INIT.xml</GameData>
    <GameData>Barb - exp.xml</GameData>
    <Textdata>PEP - INIT.xml</Gamedata>
    <Textdata>Barb - exp.xml</Gamedata>


    Which can be written anywhere between: <Gameplay> and </Gameplay>
    You can add extra "Enter" space between the original lines, so you can see which is the part you wrote.


    And now you can create/host a game using these additional mods.
    So in order for you to play with your buddy - he also must also have the same mods // have the same edited file as you have. (Just like with DLC - you can't play with a budy that uses BNW, while you don't have it)
    As i said - simple. And yesterday i enjoyed a fully modded game with a buddy of mine. :).


    P.S

    If anybody knows how - it would be really helpful if there was a guide on how to make MODS into DLC's, which could be enabled and disabled. It would be great step towards using MODS in the multiplayer

    P.S.S

    I know it looks like a work of an amateur... because it actually is, i simply added few texts of line, just because i found a patter of how it all works... i couldn't even believe that it worked in the first place.

    Please read the forum rules: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=422889

    Please read the forum rules: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=422889
     
    dylansan and Lord_Baal like this.
  2. tomplum68

    tomplum68 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    theres a mod that lets you play multiplayer hotseat with mods, its either advanced set up or custom set up. i cant remember which off the top of my head.
     
  3. Helpful dude

    Helpful dude Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    But this way you don't have to use the "pain in the ass hotseat save sharing" method. I believe it was Giant Multiplayer Robot, you are referring to? Anyway, i just wanted to share this with people that wanted to play Normal Multiplayer with mods, with friends.
     
  4. Fairfax

    Fairfax Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Your username seems accurate. It's simple to the point it's absurd that Firaxis has been giving the middle finger to those who ask for this in an official capacity.
     
  5. thebeav111

    thebeav111 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    has anyone figured out how to do this for Communitas? I'm going to try right now, lots of xml files tho... and sql too...
     
  6. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,323
    Location:
    France
    Do you know how to use modbuddy and the Firetuner ?
     
  7. CleverAdvisor

    CleverAdvisor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    I'd like to know more(mostly Firetuner)
     
  8. Huaojozu

    Huaojozu Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Sounds promising.

    Does this work for the mods with multiple files and LUAs? I would love to get the bigger modpacks working on LAN.
     
  9. hiskitters23

    hiskitters23 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    mn
    I can confirm this works, just not sure how to do it with bigger mods that have lua and such. Tested it on my happiness mod (mod that ups happiness gain from buildings to make Prince and higher up difficulties on huge maps playable). Maybe there's an xml code that you can put in that just points it to the mod folder
     
  10. TheGrumpyBuddha

    TheGrumpyBuddha King

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    822
    If anyone figures out how to make this work with fancy modes like Faerun or Reform and Rule, I'll sacrifice a goat to you. Or give $$ to your favorite charity. Or something.
     
  11. zukenft

    zukenft Xx420NoWondeRHon0rStaRtxX

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    I guess this will only work on mods that only use xml files. also because you replace a core file (that .civ5pkg thingy), once steam auto-update hits, you'll have to replace it again.
     
  12. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,323
    Location:
    France
    if you know how to use the SDK tools, you can try this small mod to make a DLC containing a selection of mods.

    If the mods you want to play with don't use SQL, try Jaii der Herr' tool first
     
  13. looter

    looter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    I'm very glad other people are finally starting to get interested in the potential of using DLC as a loading mechanism for multiplayer mods. I was looking into this last year in this thread!
     
  14. PericaPeric

    PericaPeric Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2014
    Messages:
    8
  15. joncnunn

    joncnunn Senior Java Wizard Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,621
    Location:
    Missouri
    Moderator Action: Moved to Creation & Customization
     
  16. joeTheSpaceFrog

    joeTheSpaceFrog Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Have you found a way to do this? I have been searching desperately.
     

Share This Page