1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Zoom To Cursor (Thank you Firaxis!)

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by PieceOfMind, Sep 18, 2010.

  1. PieceOfMind

    PieceOfMind Drill IV Defender Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,312
    Location:
    Australia
    @Zhahz

    The problem is that in civ5 they appear to be completely separate views, just like they were in civ4 as well. That means there's bound to be lag in switching between the two. Galciv2, as I understand it, still was the same view but stopped rendering the units and covered them with icons? This probably made it easier for the transition to be smoother.

    I can understand wanting that in civ5, but I don't think it's going to happen. In civ4 it was technically called the globe view, and the strategy layer was just one of the ways to use globe view. It was the one where you could draw lines and place signposts.

    Supreme Commander also had the automatic strategic view, but again, it wasn't really a separate view, but just placing 2d icons over where the units were but on the same 3d map.
     
  2. Avatar_Ko

    Avatar_Ko Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    I'm very happy that you can disable it.
     
  3. PieceOfMind

    PieceOfMind Drill IV Defender Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,312
    Location:
    Australia
    Actually, as I think about it more, I'm guessing that the bit you can disable is only the sticking to the cursor on zoom-out. After all, that is how the option is described. It's possible that zoom to cursor is permanently enabled. Zooming out is the one that is more problematic though. In fact I think in Supreme Commander, it was stick to cursor for zooming in, but don't stick for zooming out. That was actually the best combination IMO. It meant that you could scroll the map by literally not moving the mouse but only moving the scroll wheel back and forth.

    So zoom-out centered on cursor is optional, while zoom-in centered on cursor is forced, from what I can tell.

    With both zoom in and out being centered on cursor, scrolling the wheel up and down would not scroll the map.
     
  4. Sphinx

    Sphinx Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Estonia
    Zoom to cursor is awesome!
    First time i saw it with supreme commander and i loved it!
     
  5. Szpilman

    Szpilman Void Co. Chairman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    746
    Location:
    Cola
    Thanks for taking up this cause for those of us who don't even know what we're missing, PoM! Never used but can already see how useful it will be. Drag scroll is very welcome as well!

    It's always nice to see new simple revolutionary concepts become commonplace.
     
  6. Tarkeel

    Tarkeel Imperial

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    756
    Location:
    Norway
    I absolutely love Zoom to Cursor, but I find that I don't use it at all in CivV. Why? Because you don't get to zoom back far enough for it to be a meaningfulway to move the map. After zooming out you still have to pa to get to where you want, and then it's just faster to use the minimap after all :(
     
  7. bernlin2000

    bernlin2000 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Location:
    Florida
    Hehe, I actually hate zoom to cursor, and since the alternate zoom only works with zooming out (which makes no sense) I'm stuck with it for zooming in, for now. I particularly dislike it when I'm in the city screen and trying to zoom in on a improvement. I'm sure I'll get use to it, but it's not that amazing to me :)
     
  8. PieceOfMind

    PieceOfMind Drill IV Defender Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,312
    Location:
    Australia
    Actually I agree with you that ztc should be disabled in the city screen (i.e. the camera should be anchored/centered on the city tile). As it is you can use it (ztc) in the city screen to move the camera to the other side of the world. This is the sort of thing I'd suggest QA testers completely missed.

    (By the way, yes I realise this is an old thread :lol:) :bump:
     

Share This Page