1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

AI are not colonizing

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by siredgar, Apr 18, 2014.

  1. siredgar

    siredgar Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    New York, NY
    I play on a real world map in BNW and leave the New World (North and South America as well as Australia and New Zealand) without any civs.

    Sometimes late in the game, a couple of civs might send Settlers to colonize. But only if there are luxury resources. Even though the European (and Japanese, Chinese, etc.) civs have no more room to expand, they rarely send settlers.

    How do I encourage the civs to colonize these lands? Is there a way to program it in the editor?

    I end up colonizing almost all of the New World myself any civ.

    Thanks!
     
  2. General Tso

    General Tso Panzer General

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,547
    Location:
    U. S. of A.
    This is just a guess. But playing at a higher difficulty level might help. (Because the AI gets certain bonuses)
     
  3. George Abitbol

    George Abitbol Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    503
    Location:
    Wish Lorraine
    As said play on high levels, and pick runaway civ such Bismarck, Cathy, Hiawatha, Casimir... They love to settle even in the crappiest locations
     
  4. joncnunn

    joncnunn Senior Java Wizard Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,621
    Location:
    Missouri
    Chances are the AIs were trying to Colonize. However the AI forgets to escort settlers crossing landmasses so chances are you'll find a bunch of their settlers that the barbarians captured.

    Edit: Without a mod; the real earth map that came from the game doesn't try to place civs in their historic location.
    The same real earth map has only three or four locations between North & South America that civs can start on and none at all in Australia. All other starting locations are on the main Europe - Africa - Asia landmass.
     
  5. ArguCa

    ArguCa Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    376
    On Emperor difficulty, they're settling another islands but not sure about real world map.
     
  6. Lay_Lay

    Lay_Lay King

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    839
    Civ starts in 4000BC, so it is not even remotely historically accurate to start the game with an empty New World and empty Australia.
     
  7. Sharples

    Sharples Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    United Kingdom, England
    Then again Civ V is nothing close to realism when it comes to empire making or diplomacy. :)
     
  8. danaphanous

    danaphanous religious fanatic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,501
    hmmm...maybe you just got a bad mix of civs? Some of them are programmed to settle more than others. I've seen some of them cross vast oceans just to settle in a couple crappy blank spots on the other continent. These civs are:

    Dutch, Aztecs, Zulu, Iroquois, Spain, Russia
     
  9. cain3456

    cain3456 King

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    633
    Depends on land size. AI never colonize the new world on terra maps because the old world is large enough by itself.
     
  10. meowschwitz

    meowschwitz Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    NY
    you can try adding more civs to the game. I generally play Terra maps and the like with 16 instead of 12 on huge and 13 instead of 10 on large. The Large map options in particular leads to cool wars and players colonizing a bit more.
     
  11. Callonia

    Callonia Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,176
    They do colonize however they tend to almost never escort their settlers so their settlers end up getting captured by alot of barbarians.

    If you explore good sometimes there will be tons and tons of barbarian settlers just chilling around waiting to join your empire as workers..!
     
  12. danaphanous

    danaphanous religious fanatic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,501
    yes...turning on raging on anything below emperor with reduced civs is just carnage...free workers, missionaries, and settlers galore! Granted you can't capture the settler as a settler like the AI can. Just making up for the fact that they lose 5 times as many I guess...

    It's not a free lunch though. Protecting your trade routes is hell for a while.
     
  13. Dellan

    Dellan Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    If your neighbours are Wu Zetian, Gandhi or Theodora, then it's pretty common for them to have like 3 cities and stop expanding.

    It shouldn't be a problem with "Oh-my-god-do-i-see-a-not-occupied-tile-there?!?!?!?!" Hiawatha or with "Cool-one-tile-in-the-middle-of-the-ocean-i-think-imma-settle-there" Catherine.

    Alternatively you could try to raise FLAVOR_EXPANSION values of the lazy leaders to make them expand more.
     
  14. soldier2975

    soldier2975 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Alpha Centauri
    Civs can start in Australia, i once had Egypt, Songhai and Germany start on Australia. back in G&K they fought many wars with each other. It was a bloodbath the entire game. All three started in the grasslands at the edge of Australia and once all the resources there were used up they started settling in the desert. This is where the carnage began, every tile in Australia was part of a Civ and all their borders were touching. First, Songhai declared war on Germany, Egypt tried to stay peaceful at first but was forced into conflict. The war went on forever until Songhai adopted autocracy in the industrial era (This was in G&K before you had to have three factories) and wiped Germany out of Australia, the only reason Germany survived was because they plopped a city in New Zealand, but after they lost Berlin they were crippled the rest of the game. Songhai and Egypt kept fighting till very late game information era. I was about to finish a science victory as Korea by the time Songhai had steamrolled Egypt, I don't even think it was steamrolling because the war had lasted since like 2000 BC (don't remember what turn) and Songhai had a super horrible economy now, all Songhai could do to lower its massive debt was disbanding 70% of the units they had. Songhai owned every tile in Australia and the last thing i did before launching into space was giving Songhai religion since all they had was a pantheon for the past 2000 years. And then I zerg rushed China and destroyed my perfect economy, i did it just for laughs because i was about to win a science victory in 5 turns. That's what happens when three Civs spawn so close to each other on a small isolated continent, it is a complete bloodbath. But the thing that struck me most was that no one seemed to care, the three Civs were isolated the entire game and the only major diplomacy they had with outside Civs was me giving them a religion, all the other Civs looked at their wars like it was three children fighting and was not significant.
     

Share This Page