• Civilization 7 has been announced. For more info please check the forum here .

Benefits of First Strike

ronnybiggs

Warlord
What are the benefits of a first strike? Or more precisely, how large is the benefit of each strike?

The reason is that I started playing as Chinese, and I get the Cho-Ko-Nu, which gets two first-strikes. I'm wondering if I should keep upgrading them with Drill (giving them even more first strikes) or upgrade their other capacities.

Yeah good question its something I'm curious about too. HOw effective are first strikes? Because nowdays i'm tempted to only go for strength, collateral damage and what not.
Tend to avoid health related bonuses and first strikes because i'm not seeing tangible benefits.

Search the forums and you will find a lot of discussion about it.
In short conclusion was: First strike the most benefit you when your unit have >= power then opponents, as it let your units to win a battle why taking a little damage. So, one of your units can kill more then one opponent and still survive.

As Mutineer already advised you, first strikes benefit you the most if your unit is stronger than the opponent's.

About upgrading: This should be related to which kind of units you expect to meet. There are some units which are completely unharmed by first strikes, so if you are going to meet those you would have lost a promotion.

OK, but how is it calculated? I think thats the question here, and its hard to find threads about it!

Examle: 1 crossbowman, 50% vs melee bonus, promotions with 2 first strikes
vs
1 maceman, 8 strength, no promtions, no bonuses vs crosbowman

The crossbow attacks, there are no terrain bonuses/maluses.

The 2 first strikes from the crossbow hits the maceman. How much is the Maceman wounded before he can strike back?

AndreasS said:
OK, but how is it calculated? I think thats the question here, and its hard to find threads about it!

Examle: 1 crossbowman, 50% vs melee bonus, promotions with 2 first strikes
vs