1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Better Ship Scale

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Graphics Modpacks' started by Elhoim, Mar 1, 2006.

  1. Warspite2

    Warspite2 Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Messages:
    495
    Nice job elhoim! A mod worth installing.
     
  2. Guerra

    Guerra Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    235
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada.
    Interesting idea for a mod, but what about the dinky little cities and the huge king kong like warriors with their menacing clubs?
     
  3. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,034
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    You can change them with the CivScale tool...

    My idea is to keep the the game as original as possible, "fixing" the dowscale that happened with modern ships...
     
  4. cbutcher318

    cbutcher318 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    The carrier should be larger, aircraft carriers are absolutely massive. They dwarf everything else.
     
  5. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,034
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    The problem with larger units is that they clip with the adjacent ones...
     
  6. PrinceO'Persia

    PrinceO'Persia Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Kentucky
    It is nice, but though others like the battleship, the carrier is always the largest ship in a fleet. Since the overlap is a problem, could the option be to shrink the others. Though it is good to see a better comparison between the destroyer and battleship, the galley is still quite large. Maybe the way to go would to make the larger ships single unit images and the smaller ones multiple as are displayed for land units. Say, 5 work boats for a unit, 4 trans ports, 3 galleons, 3 frigates - galleys - carvels, 2 destroyers, 1 battleship (smaller) and 1 carrier. Subs, since they don't distinuquish between disel and nuke, should be single and med large since often operate alone and can be sizable.
     
  7. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,034
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    That would be great, but I don´t know if water combat accepts multiple units... I´ll see what I can do...
     
  8. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,034
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    Bump for new version! Check first post!
     
  9. CellKu

    CellKu Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,139
    Location:
    Europe
    Does the old version work with 1.61, too? Thanks

    CellKu
     
  10. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,034
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    Yep! It works perfectly!
     
  11. CellKu

    CellKu Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,139
    Location:
    Europe
    Great! :) Thanks for your info!
    CellKu
     
  12. seZereth

    seZereth FfH´s art monk(ey)

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,900
    Location:
    Bayreuth
    Had long time no look into the xml files... but...
    that the ships look into different directions has something to do with the direction rotation value, cant tell more from here, but i will have a look into your formations file and see what i can do ;)
     
  13. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,034
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    :D Thx!!!!
     
  14. Harada the Grea

    Harada the Grea Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    england
    just a quick idea not sure if possible, how about making destroyers in 3's reduce the size of carrier/battleship and add either 1 or 2 destroyers as escorts
     
  15. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,034
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    That´s beyond my abilities... :p

    And I like one ship Battleships... Perhaps I´ll make the destroyers to go by pairs...

    Thank for your advice!
     
  16. Steelwraith

    Steelwraith Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Sorry, kinda new at this, but I dont see the CustomAssets folder.Can u direct me?
     
  17. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,034
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    Yep, it in My Documents (well, not mine´s, your´s :p), My Games/Sid Meier's Civilization 4 by default. So, without joke is My Documents/My Games/Sid Meier's Civilization 4. There it is the customassets folder. Hope it helps!
     
  18. Raggamuffin

    Raggamuffin Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    244
    Elhoim, great mod, many thanks for making it. However I'm getting a few strange things from it. First off as you can see in the attached pic this working boat is lacking all textures. And my galleons, though playing Greece, are sometimes red. I have not played enough to see all the other boats. I have a fresh install with the latest patch and no other mods installed. Can you shed any light on this?

     
  19. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,034
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    Wow, that´s really strange, as I didn´t change any files that would affect that... I´ve only changed the scale of the boats in v1 (which seems the one you are using) and in v2 the number of boats and the volume of some sounds...

    Try this save to see if there are any more ships with problems...

    View attachment 124325

    PD: Post number 300! :D
     
  20. mikezang

    mikezang Pegasus

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Why do you modify
    <bFlatMovementCost>1</bFlatMovementCost>
    <bIgnoreTerrainCost>0</bIgnoreTerrainCost>
    to
    <bFlatMovementCost>0</bFlatMovementCost>
    <bIgnoreTerrainCost>1</bIgnoreTerrainCost>

    and modify <PrereqTech>TECH_COMMUNISM</PrereqTech>
    to <PrereqTech>TECH_UTOPIA</PrereqTech>

    and a lot of other modification what I don't understand why, can you explain to me?
     

Share This Page