1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Better Ship Scale

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Graphics Modpacks' started by Elhoim, Mar 1, 2006.

  1. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,079
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    Hi! Put the zip file inside the customassets folder and extract there! Hope it helps! :)
     
  2. Harada the Grea

    Harada the Grea Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    england
    done it works great, now all we need is for somebody to do the same for air units, it would look brilliant to see squadrons of fighters on patrol and waves of bombers bombing cities
     
  3. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,079
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    Mmmm... Might be interesting... :cool:

    I´ll give it a try! :goodjob:

    EDIT: No, it didn´t work... :( When in idle they appear fine, but when you send them on a mission, only one goes...
     
  4. King Flevance

    King Flevance Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,612
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Elhoim, do you know if this mod is compatible with the mods available to shrink units? I want to shrink my units down now as well but I dont like the mod that changes the units to 15 little units that stand in a circle around my city. I am just curious though as to if this mod will conflict with another mod that changes units.

    Thanks :D
     
  5. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,079
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    Most probably, as they sure change the unit_artdefines file... You can edit it if you want to change the scale of the units, just change the <fScale>X.XX</fScale> value... You will have to manually set each unit, and check it ingame after, but it is doable... :)
     
  6. King Flevance

    King Flevance Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,612
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Okay. I figured this would happen, I dont have a problem doing it myself so I will probably just go in and here and there resize my troops. Thanks for the info. Once again nice work on the scale, I have now officially experinced all ships in my games. :goodjob:
     
  7. Harada the Grea

    Harada the Grea Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    england
    hi, i have the regiments mod running aswell as this one it looks great very realistic, if you could get the planes to do the same the ingame shots would look brilliant and add a touch of realism to the game. I mean how often would a lone bomber/fighter attack a city/unit
     
  8. mikezang

    mikezang Pegasus

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Can you tell me Audio3DScripts.xml is for what?
     
  9. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,079
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    The sound of 3 ships moving was too strong, so I toned them down a bit. It is not a required file exactly, so if it conflicts with other mod, feel free to overwrite it.
     
  10. Bartholomaï

    Bartholomaï Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    144
    Location:
    Europe
    good job:goodjob: , I installed it right away;)
     
  11. Mr. Hyperbole

    Mr. Hyperbole understated cynic

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    Louisville, Ky

    Please pardon my ignorance as I'm still a Civ IV mod newbie :blush: .
    Is this mod compatible with Warlords? I tried installing this the other day, but I received numberous XML error messages(regarding UU entries IIRC) and the game wouldn't load.
    I extracted into the My Documents/Civ 4 Warlords/Custom Assets file. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  12. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,079
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    You did everything right, but the mod is not Warlords compatible. I&#180;ll release a version for it in the next couple of days. Stay tuned! :)
     
  13. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,079
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    Made Warlords compatible version, and also updates for both versions! Check the first post!
     
  14. Mercade

    Mercade the Counsellor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,636
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Very nice work, Elhoim.
     
  15. Critt3r

    Critt3r Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    I am still getting numerous xml errors when I try your mod and the game will not load.

    I've had to reinstall Warlords twice now.

    Any suggestions?:confused:

    I do have the Blue Marble texture mod installed. Would that make a difference?
     
  16. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,079
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    Are you using it in a normal warlords game or inside an scenario? Many mods are known to have problems with the scenarios...

    EDIT: Are you using the correct file? Because the only one compatible is the Basic - Warlords one. There is not a fleet version for Warlords yet.
     
  17. Critt3r

    Critt3r Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    I need to read better.

    That was the problem, I was using the fleet mod.

    All is good now, good job.:goodjob:
     
  18. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,079
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    Thanks! :D

    I&#180;m somewhat busy these days, but I&#180;ll see if I make a fleets version for Warlords.
     
  19. akinkhoo

    akinkhoo Biotechnologist

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    Singapore
    1 thing that really bug me now is that the transporter is scaled to a landing ship...
    shouldn't it be modelled after LST instead?

    the LST is as big as the destroyer; modern LPD are almost as big as a carrier.
     
  20. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,079
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    You are killing me with the abreviations! :D

    LST is landing ship transport? and LPD? :crazyeye: Thanks!

    Also my purpose for this mod is to have a better scale, not a realistic one. If I would make them realistic, a battleship should be ten times a trireme, and to achieve that I would have to make the battleship bigger than one tile, and the trireme so small that would be barely visible. I aim to achieve a balance between realism and graphic cohesion between units. I don&#180;t want to make galleys very small as they wouldn&#180;t look right with the "titan" warriors! :D

    But of course I&#180;m open to suggestions, but always trying to stay in the forementioned scope. Perhaps I could make a realistic version, if you provide me with real lenght data for all the ships. :)
     

Share This Page