1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Bigger Maps

Discussion in 'Maps & Scenarios' started by ls612, Nov 24, 2012.

  1. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,072
    Location:
    America
    I was thinking about my current game and how in it there are only a couple of competitive civs. I chalk that up to the fact that there is not IMO enough land per civ to make enough room for each civ to be powerful. I also remembered that the map size was completely controlled by one line in the mapscript, which even my nonexistent python skills could handle. So I changed PW3 to make a Gigantic Map 240 by 160 tiles, and loaded and tested the script. It worked.:goodjob:

    It also created a map that was much more organic and smooth in it's terrain transitions, which I liked very much.

    Now, I know that the max map size we can do is 65535 tiles (I don't know if that limit is by area or by side dimensions). 240 by 160 is 38400, which is well below that limit. I suspect that if the limit is by area that I could also make a 300 by 200 tile map, which would be 60000 tiles. My question is, would there need to be anything added besides another entry to the map size field to accomplish this? Because I'd like to have bigger and better maps now that we have the Viewports to support it. Thoughts?
     
  2. Epi3B1rD

    Epi3B1rD Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    60,000 TILES??!?!?!?!!

    Gigantic size is too big already IMO. Why would we need larger?
     
  3. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,072
    Location:
    America
    Because we can? And in this mod bigger is better.

    And I was able to get two new map sizes to work, so those will be hitting the SVN today.
     
  4. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,552
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    :hmm: The biggest one I personally made was 128X80 (I believe).That was 6 years ago already, dang time flies :popcorn:
    I just d/l'ed Laskaris, accurate_earth_232x112 :eek:, will look at it better when i get some time.
     
  5. RPG

    RPG King

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Any plans on a 300 × 200 Earth map?
     
  6. Petete

    Petete Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Now I would not mind a bigger GEM map.
     
  7. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,552
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    OK tried Enormous (by default # of civs) and it took my 64 bit OS about 10-15 minutes to generate, so be patient.
     
  8. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,072
    Location:
    America
    Sounds reasonable. It took my 40 mins to make an Immense (the biggest one) PW3 map, so you may want to do that and then go out to get coffee. :):coffee:
     
  9. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,026
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Wow! somebody after almost 2 years of harping about it (too many Civs in small area or too many for map size, causes weak opponents) is catching on! :woohoo: That's why I've only played with 7-12 AI even on a Giant map for all this time. Grumpy :old: just might have known what he was talking about after all heh?!


    This is good to hear.

    All you can do is try and if it works then :thumbsup:.

    JosEPh :)
     
  10. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,552
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    ahaha:lol: yeah a "whole" pot [pimp] oops wrong pot, my bad!!:p
     
  11. Mouthwash

    Mouthwash Escaped Lunatic

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    9,244
    Location:
    Hiding
    It isn't worth the effort unless a lot of people here own supercomputers. :yup:
     
  12. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,552
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    You need to read up on Viewports (working), Multi-Maps (Coming Soon, I Hope), and Muti-Threading (Coming soon, I hope) threads.:)
     
  13. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,072
    Location:
    America
    Boy I hope as well. I hope we can find a balance between the new project and C2C which will give us Multi-Maps and Multi-Threading.
     
  14. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,552
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    A BIG Amen to that Brother :please:
     
  15. Mouthwash

    Mouthwash Escaped Lunatic

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    9,244
    Location:
    Hiding
    Lol. I was trolling, I know what viewports are.
     
  16. CIVPlayer8

    CIVPlayer8 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    Texas
    Okay, I know what Viewports and Multi-Maps are, but what is Multi-Threading?
     
  17. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,072
    Location:
    America
    Being able to get the DLL to use multiple processor cores. Because currently it is single threaded and only uses a small amount of the total processor power on modern machines.
     
  18. CIVPlayer8

    CIVPlayer8 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    Texas
    Oh. That would be very useful indeed! :D
     

Share This Page