1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Biggest City!

Discussion in 'Civ2 - Strategy & Tips' started by Foxybite, Oct 7, 2005.

  1. Foxybite

    Foxybite Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Hey hey.. im er pretty new player to civ 2 :)
    Played 3 games so far, but played alot civ 1 when i was 7 or sumething (18 now)
    Just wondered what you biggest city was?
    Mine is 28 in my first game, remember i had 30+ i civ 1.

    But what was yours biggest city? if you ever care ofc. :D

    -Daniel
     
  2. Smash

    Smash Super Lurker Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2000
    Messages:
    3,539
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    In diety plus 5 or whatever OCC game,I managed a city size 126 iirc.Can't remember the number exactly but it wrapped back to size 1 on the next population growth.Or was that an AI city?..been so long...and the mind is going....

    iirc you can only hire 16 specialists(non Elvis) so there really is not much use going beyong size 36...other than score I guess.

    Alot of players use food caravans to grow cities well beyond what food supplies would allow.There should be some examples in the Hall of Fame games.
     
  3. Foxybite

    Foxybite Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    :oo so many aspects of this game i didnt know.. never knew you could 'hire' ppl.. :) Im sure gotta stick oround on this forum abit more :D Could really teach me alot :)
     
  4. EmperorGandalf

    EmperorGandalf Wizard

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Smash,
    Food supplies? how many other cities did you have to get enough food suplies for size 126? ive found i can only do 1 food supply per city to another city.

    My largest city was about 41, im not sure if i used any food supplies
     
  5. The Person

    The Person Deity +2

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,712
    Location:
    Trondheim, Norway
    Isn't it so that a city theoretically can reach size 42 without the use of food caravans if placed on the correct terrain?
     
  6. Specialist290

    Specialist290 Terracotta Statue Man

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,334
    Largest city I've ever gotten through legitimate means (i.e. not cheating to see how high it would go w/ Cheat Mode) is 33, on my France Game.
     
  7. Smash

    Smash Super Lurker Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2000
    Messages:
    3,539
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    The trick was to rehome food caravans/freights from 1>xx cities.One will do.A city can only ever have 1 food route
     
  8. EquinoxOmega

    EquinoxOmega Scientist

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Austria
    Well my largest has been 42 in a normal game(but i really did everything for this city (my capital (I'm a kind of capital-fetishist))).
     
  9. Sprites

    Sprites Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Sprites' land , France
    got 35 one time , nearly never used food caravans
     
  10. fing0lfin

    fing0lfin ........

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    736
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    I had one about 40-41, don't remember excactly.I didn't used food caravans.
     
  11. Andu Indorin

    Andu Indorin Retired Druid

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,483
    Location:
    Colorado Spgs, CO
    Hey everyone!

    I seem to recall that one can reach size 44 if the city has 4 wheat special squares.

    I've been known to run some food caravans during "epic" games that I play every once in while. Ran Rome up to 120 during my "Annales of Rome" game a few years back. ...

    At Deity plus 3 or higher, AI cities have unlimited growth once they install a Sewer System and Granary; this occurs because the original designers probably never foresaw the day in which people would be playing at such levels. Essentially, the Food Storage Box has less than 7 or 8 rows ...

    Next time the search function is working, I'll see if can dig up an amusing "snapshot."
     
  12. masochist

    masochist Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    My biggest city size was 92. Then i couldn't grow anymore coz game was crashing every turn (perhaps coz i reached 1 billion pop?)
     
  13. rrhal

    rrhal Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Seattle, Wa
    If you have 3 cities that crank out 50+ production per turn you can crank out a food carivan per turn at each city. then just have them trade (say in a clock wise manner) - the food carivan will fill up 1/2 a food box with each delivery. If you have grainery/pyramids then you will gain population rapidly in each city.
     
  14. dpaajones

    dpaajones Old England Forever

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    215
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    I usually get into the low 30s by the end of the game with most of my cities.
     
  15. Prometheus1992

    Prometheus1992 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    being the cheater i am with Civ 2, i can usually beef my cities up to their early forties :)
     
  16. bruderpetrus

    bruderpetrus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    berlin
    my biggest was in rome scenario. my capital. every other city delivered one food caravan. reached 64
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Duran

    Duran Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Seattle
    wow... 40s would be high for me... ive been playing for a year or so... and i have gotten big citys up in to the 30s... but i would have to trade to keep them from running out of food...

    bruderpetrus... wow... 64. that would be a mericle if i could build up a city that big...
     
  18. TimTheEnchanter

    TimTheEnchanter I...am...an Enchanter!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,985
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Can you FCT an OCC city? I didn't think you could use a city's own Caravans to grow itself.
     
  19. Ace

    Ace Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,345
    Location:
    Southern CA, USA
    By definition, the FCT is swapping food vans between two cities so that each city has only one food route which is offset by the route from the other city. The heart of the FCT is the constant swapping of food vans, turn after turn, to make cities grow, so it would be impossible to use it in an OCC when you only have one city.

    IIRC, you are correct that a van cannot deliver food to its own city. You get the message "keep moving" and if applicable "help build wonder", but not the one allowing a trade route.
     
  20. Formula Juan

    Formula Juan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    France
    my biggest city was 37 without food caravans. After that the city didn't grow anymore (maybe becoming 38 would be synonym of losing food)
     

Share This Page