1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

ChazMod

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Creation & Customization' started by Chazcon, Nov 18, 2006.

  1. Chazcon

    Chazcon Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Location:
    Left Coast
    Not a huge amount, I didn't try to add every unit I could find. It's more about flavor. Try it out, it's free.
     
  2. mice

    mice Moose

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180
    Location:
    tundra
    Here's and annoying post requesting some addition.

    I was just playing and realised how the plot list enhancments in Warlords makes a big difference. You dont 'lose' units. I shifted a bunch of spears to the other front but didnt need to because I already had spears there, they were just at the end of the queue.

    There is a vanilla plot list mod, but when I copied it in, I lost my interface so it obviously doesn't mix.

    Would you consider merging the vanilla plot list enhancements? I'm trying to work out winmerge, but it doesn't look hopeful. good game going on apart form the spear blunder.(Killing Kublai)
     
  3. Chazcon

    Chazcon Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Location:
    Left Coast
    Hmm I haven't purchased Warlords yet and I'm not sure what you're referring to...

    Have a link to the mod you're talking about?
     
  4. mice

    mice Moose

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180
    Location:
    tundra
    The link has some problem so I found the file as posted by ruff hi

    It displays all the units in a stack in as many rows as neccesary. You can see all of them, and can arrange them by a few criteria. It's a good addition for waring.

    Actually all the mods have these plot list enhancements so it must be fairly easy to incorporate.
    I'm not sure about this one I uploaded. It seems to be a lot of empty files.

    someone who knows about these things could give a link maybe.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Chazcon

    Chazcon Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Location:
    Left Coast
    Mice, I couldn't get those files to function, so then I did a search and found the Plot List Enhancement by 12monkeys. Wow! Nice mod, how did I ever play Civ4 without it? Thanks a million for turning me on to this.

    Version 1.6 is up which includes this mod.

    Also I tweaked some unit stats again. Initially I had added required bonuses (like Iron) for every unit - but I see now why Firaxis did not do it this way - it screws up both Drafting units, and the initial Custom Game setup. I think their philosophy is, a bonus like Iron is only important in the early game, and as time marches on, it is assumed that everyone has access to a resource like this.

    Also I removed 'Immune to first strike' from Cavalry units and Knights - this makes Archery units nearly useless - without an effective first strike, what's the point of building an archery unit? I'd like to see archers have a 90-100% first strike chance when fighting a non-archer unit. This would only make itself felt in the early game. Think about a group of medieval men-at-arms attacking a unit of crossbowmen. Before the melee unit would ever reach the lines of the archers, they would surely get off a volley. Once the melees made contact, they'd chew up the archers pretty fast. So the strength of an archery unit is in it's first strike ability, and in a melee, they'd be at a distinct disadvantage. To get into finer detail, crossbowmen should get only one shot off, while archers and longbowmen should be able to get 2-3 shots off.

    Another issue that Dale Kent addressed in his Combined Arms Stack Attack mod, was the fact that in a real battle, the missile-firing troops would be behind or protected by the melee troops. I didn't include that mod in mine because I do like to see the actual individual unit combat. But I might work on something along the lines of, if a defending melee unit is stacked with an archer, the archer may fire first, then the two melee units do a normal combat. Along these lines I may give all archers the functionality of artillery, that is, they can fire at an adjacent enemy unit but not be involved in a melee fight IF stacked with a melee unit.

    Some examples regarding archery units:

    Axeman attacks an Archer. Normal combat, except that the Archer has 90-100% chance of a first strike, and a chance at additional first strikes depending upon Drill promotions, up to a maximum of 3 first stikes per turn. Crossbowmen will always have a maximum of one first strike only. So in other words, an experienced Archer or Longbowman could get off up to 3 shots at the defender before melee combat is resolved. If a second unit attacks the archer, no first strikes are possible and it goes straight to melee combat.

    Axeman attacks an Archer and Warrior. The archer fires at the axeman as above, then combat is resolved between the Axeman and Warrior.

    Axeman attackes two Archers and a Warrior. Only one Archer may fire at the attacker, then combat is resolved between the Axeman and Warrior.

    Archer stacked with a Warrior attacks an Axeman. The Archer may make ONE 'missile attack' and then combat is over. No melee combat is resolved.

    Archer alone attacks an Axeman. The Archer makes ONE first strike, and then melee combat is resolved.

    Note that archers are always weaker than their corresponding melee units. This is not intended to make archers all-powerful, but rather to show them as having different characteristics, and function mnore like the support troops that they were in real life. Some fine tuning would be required I'm sure, but I think the way archers are portrayed in the game now is pitiful. This would be more realistic. Thoughts?
     
  6. mice

    mice Moose

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180
    Location:
    tundra
    Chazmod 16 is running well for me, save game compatible. It a great feature for this mod especialy becasue of the interest you can take in each units abilities.
    I agree with not including stack attack as per Dale.

    Regarding the archers, it all sounds like it's on the money. I like the ranged attack idea too. I'm not in 'archer mode' at the moment because my game is at 1760 AD.

    The interesting thing for me at the moment is utilizing horse artillary. I have a stack with cavalry and horse artilliary, and a stack with foot troops and cannon. The idea is that the horse stack breaks down defenses one move early, then the foot troops attack. When the city falls, half of the cavalry enters the town to hold for one move until all of the foot stack can enter to heal. This leaves no-one outside vulnerable, and a good stack inside to defend against counter-

    My next project is to learn how to utilize light infantry. Are they to be used like musketeers, pillage,scout,harrass , or do they have a function in the SoD?
     
  7. Chazcon

    Chazcon Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Location:
    Left Coast
    Glad you like it. Thanks for playing these new versions and providing feedback, I don't always have the time to play-test them as much as I'd like. Tough call to choose between playing a game and working on new stuff /grin

    Light Infantry - well, they are there for historical flavor. But the game engine doesn't really support their function, which would be screening Line units and holding/attacking rough terrain. I should give that more thought.

    Traditionally, skirmishers operate in open formation ahead of the main line, shoot at the enemy line and screen the line from the enemy skirmishers trying to do the same. They can make use of rough terrain, unlike Line units which depend for their very survival upon staying formed up properly. When attacked, they usually could melt away unlike Line units which had to hold their ground. The fire from skirmishers was more harrasment fire than anything else, but they could also form up for an attack like Line troops. They were especially useful for taking strongpoints on the battlefield or operating in mountainous terrain.

    So in Civ4 game terms...hmm...just random thoughts, but say Light Infantry could either cause a small amount of damage to enemy units without consequence to itself (skirmishing), or form up and attack normally, and had a 70-80% chance of withdrawl. The goal being to allow it to cause some damage, but not signifigant damage, and not be able to destroy units by itself. Allow it to move more easily and have good defenses in rough terrain. And to top it all off, if the enemy tile has Light Infantry in it, each one of them 'cancels out' each one of yours, so that you can only do skirmishing fire with the remainder.

    Maybe another item to put on the list!
     
  8. Laurino

    Laurino Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Montréal
    Here are some of the buttons you requested Chazcon. I PMed you, as I need some more infos about other units that need buttons. Hope you like them;).

     

    Attached Files:

  9. Chazcon

    Chazcon Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Location:
    Left Coast
    Holy hell!

    Wow thanks!
     
  10. Aeon221

    Aeon221 Lord of the Cheese Helmet

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,900
    Location:
    Hiding from the Afro-Eurasians
    Tagged for interest.

    Go buy warlords you cheapskate XD
     
  11. Chazcon

    Chazcon Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Location:
    Left Coast
    Send me a copy for Christmas
     
  12. Propunk

    Propunk Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Brazil
    Chazcon

    I downloaded your mod and started playing it. It's just great! Just one thing though: I noticed that the units don't have special abilities (at least in the industrial era, which is the period I like to start my games). Also, it was not possible to use the world builder, even by unchecking the "lock modified assets box". Is it supposed to be like that? If it is, is there a way to enable the world builder?

    Thanks!
     
  13. darkedone02

    darkedone02 The Suggestor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,734
    Location:
    Louisville, Kentucky
    the game is nice, but it need to be updated, I like the units and the tech icons as well, however this mod need a custom soundtrack, a custom screen (both intro and loading screen), several custom technologies, and other things that fit for this mod.

    does this also got the future age as well, which new city improvement looks also? if so then please add more technology, if not please add it in. oh and please fix the options, cause the options is messed and and tend to activate something else other then the things I selected.
     
  14. Chazcon

    Chazcon Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Location:
    Left Coast
    propunk - I use the World Builder quite often as I work on the next version - I wonder what is causing you to not have access to it? Quite odd, I'm at a loss to explain that one, but I'll look into it. Also, the units - if you are referring to 'special abilities' like bonuses vs. gunpowder etc., yes, I have gone over nearly all the units and adjusted their stats, removing some and adding others to try to balance things out. You'll find that 19th century Line and Grenadier Infantry don't have special abilities, I was attempting to reflect their real-world attributes. But you can easily mod any of them yourself if you want them changed (XML files).

    darkedon02 - nice ideas, custom soundtrack, screens and future tech. Honestly the idea of future tech never occured to me, as my games tend to be over by modern age. One thing on my to-do list is to change the tech tree a bit to give each era more time. I find that by the time I build up a nice medieval army, I only get to fight one war with it before I've learned the ways of gunpowder and am replacing it with a 19th century army in order to keep up. I don't want to arbitrarily just 'add turns' to the game, but stick to my goal of keeping it balanced. I have to be very careful with any changes that might upset game balance. More troubling is that the options are not working for you - I know exactly what is causing that and I'll fix it in the next version, coming soon.

    Currently working on: adding Airdrop mission and re-designing the combat system to include expanded and more detailed Air Combat, Naval Combat, Light Infantry special attributes, and the way Archers are handled (see previous posts). These mods are a bit of a grinder, and it will be a week or two before they are finished.

    mice - if you read this - interested in being a playtester for the next mod version? You have a good handle on this mod and I'd love to have you play new versions for a few days before I release them. Great to have a second set of eyes.

    Thank you so much for your precious feedback, good or bad, it's very valuble to me!

    Cheers

    -c
     
  15. darkedone02

    darkedone02 The Suggestor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,734
    Location:
    Louisville, Kentucky
    sweet, I going to go ahead and restart on making a new map and play as something else. 6 civs on one continent and 1 civ on another island continent is not good. I need more room.
     
  16. mice

    mice Moose

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180
    Location:
    tundra
    Chazon, did you get my PM? I said a big yes to testing.
     
  17. Chazcon

    Chazcon Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Location:
    Left Coast
    Thanks mice, hopefully I'll have v1.7 out before the weekend.

    I didn't get a PM from you, odd. I'll send you one as a test.
     
  18. Propunk

    Propunk Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Brazil
    Chazcon

    I downloaded the mod again and reinstalled it. The world builder is working fine now. I have no idea whatsoever why it didn't before. Anyway, the important thing is that it's running smoothly now.
     
  19. Chazcon

    Chazcon Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Location:
    Left Coast
    Cool, I can cross that off the list. I was really racking my brain over that one!
     
  20. lawson6088

    lawson6088 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Hey Chaz--seems like this will be cool mod, but I've run into a slight problem---I can't seem to build any settlers! Building settlers isn't offered as an option on the build menu--which limits me to one city--obviously not the best way to win a game! What gives? Thanks,

    DRL
     

Share This Page