1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

ChazMod

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Creation & Customization' started by Chazcon, Nov 18, 2006.

  1. Chazcon

    Chazcon Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Location:
    Left Coast
    You must have a tidbit of some other mod floating around your system - I can build settlers normally - very odd. I am unable to reproduce this.
     
  2. Chazcon

    Chazcon Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Location:
    Left Coast
    I picked up Warlords today.

    Although I am a few days away from releasing a 1.7 version for vanilla, it's pointless to do any more work on a vanilla mod in my opinion. I'm scrapping my current project, and the next version of ChazMod will be 2.0 for Warlords after I've ported over all my changes.

    But first I am going to fulfill two modpacks I have promised (and that I needed Warlords for anyway).

    Mice, I'll get in touch with you if you wish when I get back to work on my mod.

    I HIGHLY recommend that anyone who enjoys Civilization IV go out and pick up a copy of Warlords immediately - this ought to be a sticky on every forum here, so that modders aren't wasting their time on vanilla.

    Cheers and happy holidays all.

    -c
     
  3. snafusmith

    snafusmith Unit Maker

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,549
    Location:
    I've been everywhere, man

    The same exact thing happened when I got Warlords. I doubt if I'll ever touch the vanilla cds except if I have to reinstall. I'm excited to see how your mod will change and grow now that it's using a better base for it's development.

    PS, your paratrooper is coming along nicely.
     
  4. mice

    mice Moose

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180
    Location:
    tundra
    Agree with the above. Vanilla has a sort of classic integrity still for me, but I miss the chariot bonus against axes, the Impi, Ramasses,Gandhi's traits, Cyrus... the list goes on.

    On the other hand, 2.08 is badly balanced and needs patching.

    Chazmod 2.0 for Warlords will be a must play.
     
  5. Dirk Knight

    Dirk Knight Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Northern NY
    Hello,

    Total FNG here, but not a noob to the Civ series of games and Mods. I thorougly enjoyed the Chazmod 1.5, but noticed one small problem with it. Once the Cruise missle was built, it did not function. It wouldn't move, fire, load, launch or anything. (you could get it to load onto a Cruiser or Battleship by having the ship in the same port as the missle, but then it still wouldn't do anything else after that.)

    I've just downloaded 1.6 of your mod, so maybe things are better.

    I'm glad to hear that you will be doing a new mod for the Warlords addon and look forward to testing that out when you finish.

    Keep up the good work! (I do mod and custom content for SimCity4 and know how difficult it can be getting things to work right. The complaints, the whining, etc.)
     
  6. Chazcon

    Chazcon Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Location:
    Left Coast
    Thanks, I like getting feedback, good, bad, or ugly. Cruise missiles work for me, that's an odd one. When I finish the Warlords version, I'll abandon the vanilla version, so I won't be doing any further bug fixes or updates for vanilla.

    I keep telling myself "I should have this done in a couple more days..." - but with the holidays, work, real life stuff...I just haven't had the time to work on it as much as I'd like.

    Just a couple more days!

    -c
     
  7. Chazcon

    Chazcon Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Location:
    Left Coast
    ChazMod v2.0 for Warlords is up...this is an ALPHA vesrsion, it needs testing and I'm sure there are a few bugs here and there. I'll be playtesting it myself as I have time. Please post any bugs you find. I don't have all the proper buttons in yet, please bear with me. I've been working on this since December and wanted to get it out for a bit of testing.

    I appreciate any and all comments, good, bad, or ugly.

    After I've identified and eliminated all bugs, I'll post the source as well.

    Hope you like it! Let me know.

    Ideas for the next version:

    - Terrain and Feature Attack mods for units.
    - Add Blake's AI mods
    - Add Plagues
    - Add Revolutions-type mod with revolt/revolution/secession/civil war
    - Add Hidden Nationality
    - Update units and buttons
    - Ethnically Diverse great persons & generals
    - Expanded end-game (sci-fi mod) with new map showing a planet
    - and a list of little items.
     
  8. Morfydd

    Morfydd Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    CTD every time on intitial move ..<no chance to save no chance to do anythign except generate a map then crashes to desktop >
     
  9. Chazcon

    Chazcon Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Location:
    Left Coast
    Warlords, right? I've played several games from 0-a.1500 AD and many games starting in all eras.

    Try clearing your cache (required for first game of most mods).

    Also if you have changed (modded) anything outside the MODS folder a new mod will generally crash (i.e. you can't run two mods concurrently).

    Standard stuff there you probably already know (sorry), I bet clearing the cache is the ticket.
     
  10. Morfydd

    Morfydd Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Not the cache was just clearing it and tryed again..made sure custom assets was empty ...and no i havent changed anything out side the mods folder or custom assets ..and yes warlords ...Im a bit baffled..the vanilla version works fine in vanilla but the warlords version dosent seem to be working with warlords not sure why not
     
  11. Chazcon

    Chazcon Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Location:
    Left Coast
    Warlords patched 2.08? I can't reproduce this error...anyone else getting this?
     
  12. Snake Pliskeen

    Snake Pliskeen Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Italy
    I was trying your mod, but after few turns played at Huge Terra map, epic, the game crashed at the end of the turn, impossible to know why. Any ideas?
     
  13. Chazcon

    Chazcon Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Location:
    Left Coast
    Found an error in the DLL code, fixed and alpha 2 uploaded. Just played this on Huge/Marathon to 2800 BC with no crash or freeze, let me know how it works and thanks for playtesting this along with me.
     
  14. Snake Pliskeen

    Snake Pliskeen Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Location:
    Italy
    How to download alpha2?
     
  15. Chazcon

    Chazcon Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Location:
    Left Coast
    Same link, I only have one link

    Bah, now I'm getting crashes too with alpha 2. Won't have a great deal of time to work on this for a couple days, hold off until I post alpha 3, thanks.
     
  16. Ishon

    Ishon Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    I'm not sure if Blake's AI will be fully compatible with this, but if you get to combine these two somehow - it would be great, and I guess this would be the only mod I play.
     
  17. thelurgee79

    thelurgee79 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    can you make non-lethal land combat? i mean, the combat should not always end with the death of one unit... make it more like Panzer General combat. this way the (surviving) ground units will have more experience which will play a more important role in the game. what do you think?
    and, can you also add the sniper mod?
    or make the artilery to give defensive fire support? (similar to archers)
     
  18. Chazcon

    Chazcon Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Location:
    Left Coast
    All can be done, but right now I just need to debug and get it working - my RL work has gone into insane mode and suddenly I have very little free time - perhaps this weekend.
     
  19. thelurgee79

    thelurgee79 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    i've played your mod a little bit but after a few turns, the game crashes to desktop. do you know what it can be? can you fix this bug?
    i still have some questions:
    -why can you not paradrop units into your own borders?
    -what happens if an enemy land unit wants to attack an air unit (e.g. spearman attacks air transport somewhere on the route); is it possible?
    -can you make it that air-trasports can only load/unload in cities? (otherwise there is no sense for the paradrop)
    -can you make a certain 'fuel range' for air units? (e.g. can fly 4 turns before returning to a frirendly city)
    -can you somehow implement parts of the 'graded invisibility' mod? (e.g. commandos are invisible in forest&jungle tiles only, but just for regular troops)
     
  20. Chazcon

    Chazcon Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    475
    Location:
    Left Coast
    This is a raw alpha and thus has not been debugged yet. Right after I released as an alpha, in order to allow players to help test it so I could debug it, a new major project started at work that will consume all of my time. I will not have any time to debug this for at least several months, possibly up to a year.

    I will ask the mods to delete this thread and the download, because it's nothing more than a teaser if I leave it up without continuing development on it.

    I apologize for this situation, but it's just life that happens to us all. Take care.
     

Share This Page