1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ 5/Steam:Offline Mode Question

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by atticus finch, May 11, 2010.

  1. The_Coyote

    The_Coyote Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Location:
    Europe
    [sarcasm]
    We live in funny times. You have to justify why you don´t have or want internet at home (my favourite assumption so far - only a bit exaggerated: "hey, you don´t have internet. But why should someone care about you, in any case you must be too poor to buy the game). And the most funny thing, playing offline becomes a feature.

    10 - 15 years ago, playing online was a feature of games, now after almost every big title has this feature, the game companies invented a new feature to be sold to the customer: "the ability to still play offline"
    [/sarcasm]

    Now we have only one problem, none of the poor guys without access to the net (but money for civ5) can complain here, so the lack of them in this discussion shouldn´t be that big wonder for everybody. (and without market survey i will make no guess how many they are)
     
  2. bigdog5994

    bigdog5994 Lady Day

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,959
    Location:
    Huntsville, Alabama
    so what about people that cant connect?
     
  3. Chalks

    Chalks The blue pieces

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,097
    You mean people without phone lines?
     
  4. bigdog5994

    bigdog5994 Lady Day

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,959
    Location:
    Huntsville, Alabama
    people without internet access
     
  5. Chalks

    Chalks The blue pieces

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,097
    Or phone lines, because you can activate via a dial up connection.
     
  6. Thyrwyn

    Thyrwyn Guardian at the Gate

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,289
    Location:
    State College, PA
    That is not what Ori said - he said it pestered him for permission to get through his firewall (because he hadn't given it the permission to do so).

    In my experience, with no active internet connection and steam in offline mode. Steam doesn't "pester" me at all.
     
  7. bigdog5994

    bigdog5994 Lady Day

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,959
    Location:
    Huntsville, Alabama
    i have a friend who is stationed over in Iraq and internet connection even dial up is spotty at best so on a good day he can connect to the internet long enough to install a game but why should he have to put up with this BS in the first place
     
  8. Chalks

    Chalks The blue pieces

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,097
    Do you mean install or activate? Because activating a game requires extremely little internet access. No more than viewing a webpage - if you can use the dial up access at all then it should be enough to activate.
     
  9. bigdog5994

    bigdog5994 Lady Day

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,959
    Location:
    Huntsville, Alabama
    have you ever installed a game without Steam before?
     
  10. nerd

    nerd Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    This is patently false, at least for the majority of "internet activation" games, and probably true for CiV, as they all are requiring a large (debate as to how large) update on registration, and ALL patches and updates are required to be done from the gaming computer. I am waiting for definite word on this from Greg or Elizabeth, but all (to my knowledge)other "internet activation" games are this way.
    Regardless, this was a reply to the ludicrous comment about those without dedicated 24/7 internet.
    Civ4 is not inherently tied to any internet registration or server, in fact they recently took even cd check out.
     
  11. mjs0

    mjs0 The 4th X

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Central Florida
    To be fair, this is somewhat understating the situation...

    What you say is true if the customer has physical media to install from and activation is all that is required. However, it is not unusual for products to have sizable patches available on day 0 and if the product being installed has any sort of patch available then Steam will insist on installing that patch before first use.

    Even a modest size patch, 50Mb say, will be, at the very least, a big inconvenience to somebody with only a dial-up connection. Of course this also doesn't take into account any necessary updates to the Steam Client.

    Not as important but also worth highlighting is the fact that somebody with dial-up internet is effectively denied the ability to play as Babylon because buying and downloading the deluxe edition is not an option for them.
     
  12. eireksten

    eireksten Protective/Organized

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    347
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    Because he wants to play Civ5, I assume? If that's not the reason, I suggest he don't buy the game...
     
  13. Senethro

    Senethro Overlord

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,132
    Location:
    The cutest of cephalopods
    This is incorrect. No pestering involved. It just does it.

    Offline mode is for use offline, it still tests for a connection to a Steam server on startup because thats part of Steams functionality.
     
  14. Xiao Xiong

    Xiao Xiong Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    480
    Which is better than the alternative: You install a buggy, low quality game on day 0 and have a horrible experience. After suffering in agony and banging your head in frustration you notice the sizable patch on the developer's website and start the same lengthy download that Steam would have forced, and then waste time figuring out how to apply the patch.

    Personally I feel Steam is doing me a service in this case, I would much rather wait for the update and have a quality experience then wind up in the hospital bleeding from the forehead from having banged my head against the wall in frustration over game bugs.

    If you insist on buying a DVD and you only have a dial-up connection there is really NO solution for you other than to wait until the 2nd batch of DVD's ship and you can get a copy of the game that does not require a big download, no matter whether it be through steam or manually downloaded off a website.

    Note that yes you can turn updates off in steam...
     
  15. frekk

    frekk Scourge of St. Lawrence

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3,151
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario
    Most people don't have dialup modems anymore.
     
  16. nerd

    nerd Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    and those that do are of no consequence......yep, thats right.......who cares....they aren't you, are they....so they can just be ignored.
    I wonder...just how many of us that play civ this group covers? Oh well, it seems we are invisible so we will never know.
     
  17. Xiao Xiong

    Xiao Xiong Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    480
    I bet if you surveyed people who pay for games you would find that very few of them are dialup users, meanwhile, I bet you will find an enormous number of people who randomly browse the steam store and impluse buy anything that looks fun.
     
  18. Xiao Xiong

    Xiao Xiong Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    480
    Do people like that REALLY buy PC games?

    I bet most of them don't even have a computer and if they play games at all only on a Wii.
     
  19. nerd

    nerd Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    http://www.marketingvox.com/55-of-us-adults-have-home-broadband-but-10-use-only-dialup-039691/
    55% of US Adults Have Home Broadband, 10% Use Dialup - MarketingVOX
    This survey also says that the number for home users rises to 15% in the US for dial-up.

    You would have us believe that those millions of people don't own computers? and if they do, won't buy PC games. :lol:
    What do they hook up to that dial-up connection if they don't own computers?

    I really am offended by this attitude that anyone who doesn't have 24/7 highspeed internet is too stupid to play civ. :mad:
     
  20. Xiao Xiong

    Xiao Xiong Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    480
    It was the people without internet that I said probably don't even have computers. And yes, I expect dial-up users are not a huge market for games.
     

Share This Page