1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ 6 - Gathering Storm

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Macintosh' started by jpinoniemi, Nov 20, 2018.

  1. oakdragon

    oakdragon Stagnating amongst the Siliconians Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    423
    Location:
    San Jose, CA, USA
    My wild-ass guess would be that those updates only relate to changes to the launcher app itself, not to Civ.
     
  2. Ondolindë

    Ondolindë Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1,003
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    La Paz, Bolivia
    That makes sense.
     
  3. AspyrRyan

    AspyrRyan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    The versions on the launcher refers to the app bundle version. It's primarily due to requirement for the App Store, but it's maintained on Steam for consistency. Base release was 1.0.0, Rise and Fall was 1.1.0, and Gathering Storm was 1.2.0. Since this is the first patch to Gathering Storm, it's now 1.2.1.

    The version number on the main menu is the game version, and matches the PC version number as long as the builds are in sync.
     
    jpinoniemi likes this.
  4. Ondolindë

    Ondolindë Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1,003
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    La Paz, Bolivia
    @AspyrRyan, thank you for taking the time to explain such trivial matter. It is much appreciated, however.
     
    jpinoniemi likes this.
  5. AspyrRyan

    AspyrRyan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    You say trivial, but forgetting to update that version number is a quick way to fail Apple submission for the App Store.
     
    jpinoniemi and Ondolindë like this.
  6. Ondolindë

    Ondolindë Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1,003
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    La Paz, Bolivia
    Of course, haha, I hadn't thought about that. Hopefully, it hasn't happened too often and it won't happen in the future.
     
  7. The Baron of Cheshire

    The Baron of Cheshire Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Does anyone know when they will fix cross platform?
     
  8. Ondolindë

    Ondolindë Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1,003
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    La Paz, Bolivia
    Unfortunately, only Aspyr and 2K knows. @AspyrRyan confirmed the issue, but nothing has been said and no one has responded when a few people asked here and on Steam as to when it would be fixed.
     
  9. Ondolindë

    Ondolindë Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1,003
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    La Paz, Bolivia
    AspyrBlair responded on Steam that the hot fix is coming tomorrow morning.
     
    Plaidman likes this.
  10. Plaidman

    Plaidman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toronto
    Thank god, I've got a cloud game that's been stuck on my turn for six days now because of the stupid patch, everyone probably wants to murder me and I don't blame them.

    This week has been so frustrating. I was impressed with Aspyr and everyone for finally doing the Mac/Linux releases properly with Gathering Storm, and was so let down by this patch screw-up. Any word on what happened?
     
  11. jpinoniemi

    jpinoniemi Chieftain Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Mine just updated, 58.2MB update. Game launcher v1.2.2, Game version 1.0.0.317(171560)Metal.
     
    Plaidman likes this.
  12. Ferocitus

    Ferocitus Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    2,668
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Updated the game and launcher.
    CTD around turn 50 on 16Gb RAM, Nvidia GTX 1070 computer under Linux Mint.
    No mods.
    Another poor effort from Aspyr following an even more abysmal bug-ridden release by Firaxis.
     
  13. Ondolindë

    Ondolindë Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1,003
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    La Paz, Bolivia
    @Ferocitus, is it me or the amount of bugs in GS and patch 1 are considerably more than in any other release?
     
  14. Ferocitus

    Ferocitus Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    2,668
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Dunno. Civ 5 was such an appalling mess on release I don't believe that could ever be beaten.
     
    Ondolindë likes this.

Share This Page