1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ VI Reference 1.2

Alternative to Civilopedia - faster/easier to use fully linked internally

  1. Grumalg

    Grumalg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    OR, USA
    I'm well aware of splitting tables and used it extensively in the document. If a table split ran to 2 pages plus a small amount of lines on a third page, I adjusted the splits to a more equal size so that enough of a table was visible on a page to make comparisons within a page better, instead of leaving something like 1-3 lines left over on a new page.

    Most of the tables were carefully fitted to maintain a consistent look while keeping row heights as small as practical so more rows fit on a page. Adding columns will drive row heights higher resulting in fewer rows per page and a reduction in comparability, as well as a larger page count.

    Lots of stuff I'd like to add beyond a cross reference, stuff like breakdown tables of military units by era and by type in addition to alphabetical. That would allow seeing what you had and were up against in a particular era or see the progress of power in a particular units class.

    Splitting into multiple documents is fully supported in MSWord, but it doesn't really buy you anything. The issue is total bytes transferred in hosting and it's cost for CivFanatics. Dling two sections that add up to the same amount of bytes doesn't gain you anything in hosting total bytes delivered.

    The MSWord doc source is 113 Mb+. The primary culprit is the graphics. Most of the icons I got from screen capture came off the screen at 258x253 pixels (the big upper right icons in a double frame with cut corners you see in the civilopedia). That's 261,096 bytes (258*253 pixels * 4 bytes (RGB+Alpha) per each occurrence in the document. That includes the tiny icons next to stuff like techs and civics links in rows. They are just shrunken in display size, not in pixel count. The full set of 722 graphics used is 32,982,784 bytes for just one occurrence of each image. The images are embedded in the document many times. While I could shrink the document a lot by linking the images to a file directory instead of embedding, then I'd have to deliver the whole image set to go with the document. Even RARed down it's 25Mb+.

    I'm hoping we'll soon see either the release of the toolset (possibly giving us multiple icon sizes to choose from) or some graphic artist with the feel for shrinking pixel size down, while still fooling the eye for apparent detail will make a set. I'm not such a graphic artist with thousands of hours of hands on time to get the 'feel' for using varied color tones as single pixels to fool the eye with detail in a small image.

    While I could easily reduce the images to any pixel size desired, it would result in massive lost detail. Look at how detailed the unit images are in civilopedia. Take the Biplane for example. The connecting lines between the wings are only 1-2 pixels wide, shrink that to say 64x64 and the results wouldn't be pretty. Or look at the Tank. I choose to keep the quality despite the size penalty.

    Fortunately, passing the DOC into LibreOffice and exporting to PDF resulted in a large decrease in size. I suspect this a result of duplicate images being recognized and storing only one copy. Give me a good quality set of smaller images, and I've have the slack to add lots of things and probably still be smaller than it is now.
     
  2. jmucchiello

    jmucchiello Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    Well, isn't dropbox or google drive a better solution for hosting large files?

    I'm wondering if this wouldn't be better as a zipped archive of HTML, CSS, and JPGs.
     
    IllustriousYou likes this.
  3. Grumalg

    Grumalg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    OR, USA
    See PM
     
  4. Rollerdog

    Rollerdog Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Excellent reference -- Thanks for your work.

    I would also second adding some additional reference material -- in particular, amenities and housing.
     
  5. Riker13

    Riker13 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    695
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for this. :)
    Good Job.
     
  6. CivLuvah

    CivLuvah Warlord

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,273
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    From Philippines, now Canada
    Any chance you'll update this for the new DLCs?
     
  7. Grumalg

    Grumalg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    OR, USA
    I'm not ignoring the need for updating, but a funny thing happened to me in December. Had a cardiac event that put me in the hospital for a week and was feeling subpar for quite a while after it. I did get started on an update for the stuff that happened to the game in December after I got home again in January and did a fair portion of the updating of icons etc. but still wasn't quite feeling up to the massive hours a full update takes, thus I didn't finish it.

    I'm working on it again and if all goes well should have an update to current ready in about a week... (crosses fingers) :)
     
  8. CivLuvah

    CivLuvah Warlord

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,273
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    From Philippines, now Canada
    I'm so sorry that that happened to you. :(
     
  9. Grumalg

    Grumalg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    OR, USA
  10. CivLuvah

    CivLuvah Warlord

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,273
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    From Philippines, now Canada
    Thanks :)

    I hope everything's alright with you while you were updating this
     
  11. Grumalg

    Grumalg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    OR, USA
  12. Arnold_T

    Arnold_T Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    awesome! that's great turnaround time on that. thanks Grumalg!
     
  13. Grumalg

    Grumalg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    OR, USA
    Personally, I didn't think my turnaround time was all that good. I didn't notice the patch had happened till Aug 3, so it took me 12 days after that to get it done.

    Since I've become a decrepit old fart, my ability to do 24 hour + marathons working on something has disappeared. Combine that with failing eyesight and it took what I thought was a long time...
     
  14. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,634
    @Grumalg the purchase costs on buildings do not look right
    Very useful guide, have used it lots but the gold is replicated from the prod by the looks of it.
     
  15. Grumalg

    Grumalg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    OR, USA
    Note that the reference uses the value found in the Civilopedia which is the 'Base' value. It is typical for the 'Base' Prod cost and 'Base' Purchase cost to be the same in the Civilopedia. Check the in game civilopedia for any value you think is wrong in the reference and see if they are the same.

    The Base value is modified to get the actual value in game depending on the choices made when starting the game for example (difficulty, time pace, etc.). Since I cannot know in advance what choices are made in starting the game and there are many combinations of changes it only makes sense to list the 'Base' value just like the Civilopedia does.
     
  16. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6,634
    Aaah learn something new every day, makes sense, cheers.
     

Share This Page

Ebates: Get Paid to Shop