Civ3's random number generator

Plume

Chieftain
I just read something about civ3 RNG (random number generator) in another thread and I think RNG's need a bit of defending. At the same time, I'll share some of my opinions about the RNG with you. First, here's how a RNG's work (briefly, I'm not an expert).

Basically, it starts with a seed. That's a number generated (usually) by the internal clock of the computer. By using some sort of combination of the date and time (up to the millisecond), you get a number. Then, that number is fed into a function. This is the mysterious part. Essentially, this function is "chaotic". That means that it's very complicated and that, more importantly, if you start with a seed of say 0.5123, you'll get a very different number than if you had used 0.5124. The other important characteristic of this function is that you'll get something "random". I'll explain what this means below. To get the second "random" number, you feed the first one into the function and bingo, you've got what is essentially a random sequence of numbers. In Civ3, this new number is kept (if you keep the flag "keep seed" on) in the savegame. Next time you load a game, you're at the same point in the sequence.

The random in " " means basically that any sequence you'll get using this method will (using mathematical analysis) satisfy very precise mathematical conditions that a purely "theoretical" random variable would also satisfy. However, the sequence is not completely random, eventually, you can get back to your starting point. In fact, one of the properties of an RNG is how many iterations of the function will bring you back to your starting point, on average. The bigger the number, the better the RNG is. But we're talking about huge numbers here, in no way detectable by someone over a couple of tries.