1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ4: NO "build-city" order anymore. ONLY "build colony" order

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Ultraworld, May 26, 2003.

  1. John-LP

    John-LP Libertarian

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    413
    Location:
    DIVIDED STATES OF AMERICA
    I hate this idea and, if it becomes reality, I will never buy a game with that setting. If Colonies could turn into cities, fine, but I want the settler-build city option.
     
  2. Ultraworld

    Ultraworld Emperor

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,156
    That should be moddible of course SO you can build cities.

    Note that Firaxis might consider to start with settlers which build the first 2 cities and after that you can only gain new cities by florishing colonies.
     
  3. Frisian Warrior

    Frisian Warrior with a cannon

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    a goody hut
    I read through these posts a few times but don't grab the idea. From what I understand it is a silly concept. More random stuff (will it turn into a city, will it flip?) means less strategic thought, which is what the game is suopposed to be all about. Ultraworld, what you want can perhaps to some extent be modded but please leave the original game alone - with all respect, but suggesting to do it the other way around sounds a bit arrogant to me. I understand you are Dutch. I looked up the word 'settler' in an English-Dutch dictionary and it translates as 'kolonist'. Like somebody said above, the idea of colonies as something different than settlements is a nice Firaxian idea.
     
  4. Ultraworld

    Ultraworld Emperor

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,156
    Hi Frissian Warrior (dutch too)?

    I agree that my ideas are maybe a bit too drastic.

    But what do you think about colonies flipping into cities?
    If they would only add that too civ4 then I'll mod the rest myself.
    Agreed :goodjob:

    The fact that colonies in Civ3 don't require management make them very usefull and colonies should definately be in Civ4 again.

    :) Exactly: a nice/good idea.



    P.S. A bit surprised that you can build fortress on them.
     
  5. Frisian Warrior

    Frisian Warrior with a cannon

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    a goody hut
    Like I said, colonies flipping into cities is ridiculous as it adds more randomness. They are good the way they are, don't mess with them. Perhaps the terming has been unfortunate, should they have been called outposts, and every new settlement referred to as a colony. I agree the role of colonies in the game is a bit meager and sympathize with your efforts to make them more important, but not in this way. Cities need planning.

    (dutch too)? No, Frisian. And one day you Dutch will pay for your arrogance. ;)
     
  6. Ultraworld

    Ultraworld Emperor

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,156
    LOL. Frisian, WestFrisian, Danish Frisian*, German Frisian*?



    * do they exist
     
  7. Ultraworld

    Ultraworld Emperor

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,156
    If colonies would have a harbor function by default than you can build colonies on seas and ocean squares to collect lux+strat-resources (eg oysters, oil) there the harbor connects them to the trade-network.
     

Share This Page