1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Computer Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread II

Discussion in 'Computer Talk' started by Methos, Oct 7, 2009.

  1. Methos

    Methos HoF Quattromaster Super Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    13,100
    Location:
    Missouri
    Previous Thread

    As the title says, this thread is for computer questions that don't rate their own thread.
     
  2. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    12,427
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Aperture Science Laboratories
    In general, is it true that a computer is only as fast as the slowest component?
     
  3. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    Depends on what task its doing. If you're manipulating some data in that can fit in RAM, as soon as you load it from your HDD and into RAM, the slowest component, the HDD, stops being relevant.


    Although most often it is true, considering the slowest component is the person behind the keyboard.
     
  4. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    12,427
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Aperture Science Laboratories
    Sometimes on the lousy school computers I type faster than the computers can handle and the letters lag behind.
     
  5. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    What the heck does your school run, 286's? Last time I saw that was on my first computer when I made the poor P3 in it do some heavy multitasking.
     
  6. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    12,427
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Aperture Science Laboratories
    I don't know, but most of those computers run Windows XP SP3 and a ton of creepy programs to spy on students on 256 MB of RAM. I know because when I ctrl+alt+del it shows me some weird dialog instead of the task manager.

    EDIT: Oh and they removed both WordPad and Notepad so there's choice but to use M$ Word.
     
  7. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    12,427
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Aperture Science Laboratories
    Not a question, but just something I'd like to share. I made this for multimedia class, because currently we're creating websites, and part of it was to create an imagemap for the index.

    Spoiler :


    If you look closely, you'll notice that the left edge is a little rough (right under the "R" in "READY") but otherwise I think I did a good job.
     
  8. Atticus

    Atticus Chieftain Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,666
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Nice page, Aimee!

    Question: I found a computer in dumbster and took it home for post mortem. One of the screws that fasten the motherboard to the case seems to be unopenable. The screw's other end seems to be completely flat, it's apparently flattened with some kind of machine. Is this typical for MoBos? The tight screw connects MoBo to a part of case that seems to be separate from the rest, but I haven't yet figured out how to take it out. Any hints?

    It's HP computer, if that's got anything to do with it.
     
  9. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    Do you have a picture? Im thinking its something along the lines of a rivet, done by HP so that you couldnt replace the motherboard.
     
  10. Cutlass

    Cutlass The Man Who Wasn't There.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    43,110
    Location:
    US of A
    Can you get the other side off the case to get to the back of it? Might be able to free it from that direction.
     
  11. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    12,427
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Aperture Science Laboratories
    Drop it off the third storey of a building!

    Sorry, couldn't resist. But maybe there's some way to pry the case off. Or get some really thin thing underneath the screw and yank it out.
     
  12. Atticus

    Atticus Chieftain Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,666
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Incidentally I live in a third storey, so that's not a bad option ;)

    Here's picture from the front, it isn't of too good quality:

    And here's the other side, the red arrow indicates the "screw's" other end and green the hole of normal screw for comparison:


    Ironsaw's blade is an option, but I doubt that iron dust is good for the MoBo. I don't have a drill, and the thing seems to be made of much harder metal than normal rivet.

    Ps. Does someone know how to resize images with IMG-tags?
     
  13. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    Looks like it is a rivet. You could try drilling or punching it out, but that is very likely to damage the mobo
     
  14. Atticus

    Atticus Chieftain Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,666
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Ok, thanks! One more question: What's the reason behind this? Why on earth they want to make repairing and upgrading more laborous and expensive?
     
  15. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    So you would have to send it to them, and pay for their repair service, which is horribly overpriced. Additionally so you couldnt take their crappy mobo, replace it with one of your own and be happier with it. Instead, they want to lock you in into their once again, horribly overpriced repair parts.
     
  16. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    12,427
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Aperture Science Laboratories
    Question: I have 4 gigs of RAM, Windows says 3. Something to do with system limitation. But is the missing gigabyte going to waste or just being used by the system?
     
  17. Genocidicbunny

    Genocidicbunny Bug squasher

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,473
    Location:
    Orange Town
    waste pretty much
     
  18. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    12,427
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Aperture Science Laboratories
    thanks.

    On moms computer, I thought I had downloaded flash for her, but it turned out to be some weird "DLM" download manager. What the heck?
     
  19. GVBN

    GVBN Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Finland
    Adobe uses DLM for their downloads
     
  20. Cutlass

    Cutlass The Man Who Wasn't There.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    43,110
    Location:
    US of A
    I'd say that since the PC was junk when you got it, try carefully drilling out the rivets. You lose nothing if you fail.
     

Share This Page

Ebates: Get Paid to Shop