1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Conquest victory

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by ahmedhadzi, Aug 12, 2010.

  1. StStutter

    StStutter Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Toronto
    I'd be surprised. I'd bet they'd make you march all through that last civ's empire and capture what was once the original city of every other civ that is still in the game.

    I'd imagine, those cities are still given some kind of special designation regardless of whether there's a palace in them or not.
     
  2. AriochIV

    AriochIV Colonial Ninja

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5,962
    Location:
    Nehwon
    Yes. In the GameStar video, the player takes Tenochtitlan (the Aztec capital), and the only options are Puppet and Annex.

     
  3. KrikkitTwo

    KrikkitTwo Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    12,347
    This brings up an interesting case... what happen if you takes a Capital with one city challenge?

    Perhaps that would be an exception to the OCC (you can own a Capital city) OR perhaps that might allow you to raze a Capital... making it possible to win an OCC as conquest.
     
  4. 12agnar0k

    12agnar0k Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,556
    Obviously something will be different in OCC if Capitals can't be razed, it will probably enable you to raze them, easy fix.
     
  5. KrikkitTwo

    KrikkitTwo Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    12,347
  6. 12agnar0k

    12agnar0k Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,556
    Yeah, well.. maybe they have a more complex but balanced fix.
     
  7. Polobo

    Polobo Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,537
  8. KrikkitTwo

    KrikkitTwo Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    12,347
    Puppet cities Might be, but that violates OCC fairly substantially. But I guess if you only can have 1 puppet per civilization that you eliminate.

    Perhaps you make the city a puppet that produces nothing (ie it goes into permanent civil disorder... not producing anything or counting for happiness purposes)
     
  9. Horserush

    Horserush Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    I'm pretty sure conquest will mean capturing and holding ALL capital cities (original capital cites). This means that in your example, your small empire will have to capture not only the last remaining civ's capital city, but all of the capitals that they now own. You can't just wait for someone to take over the rest of the world and then take thier capital, that would lead to some really lame MP victories and would be heavily abused in single player.
     
  10. Horserush

    Horserush Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    In the case of OCC, they might just not allow you to win by conquest. How did this work in civ 4?
     
  11. KrikkitTwo

    KrikkitTwo Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    12,347
    In Civ 4 you had 2 military victories
    Conquest... last civ surviving
    Domination...control X% of the world's area and population

    Domination was impossible with OCC, but Conquest was possible (although very hard), you just had to raze every other civs city's. (you were forced to raze any city that you took.. you might have been able to liberate it to an ally though)

    Since it seems that you can't raze the capitals needed for Conquest Victory in Civ5, and an OCC is forced to raze every city they take (or liberate it to an ally) the quesion becomes what happens when an
    OCC.. must raze/liberate captured cities
    captures a
    Capital city.. cannot be razed

    One of those rules must break.

    I think the rule that would break would be the OCC one they can Capture a capital... but they get no benefits from it...it acts like a city in permanent civil disorder... no production/no maintenance/no (un)happiness effects, no growth, etc.
     
  12. matt112986

    matt112986 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Does Civ V have the "no city razing" option?
     
  13. Seven05

    Seven05 Warmonger

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    And in normal (or, non-OCC) games it was almost impossible to to win my Conquest without first achieving a Domination victory unless you razed almost every city out there :)
     
  14. AriochIV

    AriochIV Colonial Ninja

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5,962
    Location:
    Nehwon
    Yes, it does.
     
  15. Polobo

    Polobo Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,537
    Yes, and its better now since barbarians no longer will found cities in obsecure places that can never be destroyed.
     
  16. matt112986

    matt112986 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    I wasn't 100% sure if it was or not, but I meant to infer that the option could be enabled in the screenshot. Do we know the game details of that shot?
     

Share This Page