1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Creating and Using Leaders

Discussion in 'Civ3 Strategy Articles' started by SirPleb, Aug 15, 2003.

  1. Pfeffersack

    Pfeffersack Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,223
    Location:
    Germany
    Thank you! Hopefully this gets fixed one day - as it is in the moment it is highly illogical...
     
  2. a4phantom

    a4phantom Perma-newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    MN, USA
    That would explain it, my elite Sipahi have swallowed two empires without getting an MGL while my SGL waits to build Darwin. I hope they change that.
     
  3. tofe99

    tofe99 SGL

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    London, UK
    Yes, it's true... No MGL while having an SGL...
    In my currently won game (Dutch, Emperor, Standard Map) once I have 4 GLs in one turn. AFAIR the first one was SGL (hurried Smith) the other 3 were MGL (always created army when appeared):
     

    Attached Files:

  4. a4phantom

    a4phantom Perma-newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    MN, USA
    Where do you get screenshot assistant?
     
  5. tofe99

    tofe99 SGL

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    London, UK
    From here... In the utility programs subforum you can find tons of good stuff, including this one.
     
  6. dmanakho

    dmanakho Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,511
    Location:
    US, NC
    There is an exception for SGL in C3C... You can have 2 SGL at the same time.
    I played a game and I had one SGL and i wanted to wait for the next wonder to rush so i kept it in city and when i researched next tech I've got myself 2nd SGL.. so i used one to rush a wonder and second to boost science.
     
  7. alexman

    alexman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    778
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    The fact that you got two SGL at the same time, doesn't contradict the statement you quoted above. :)
     
  8. dmanakho

    dmanakho Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,511
    Location:
    US, NC
    Never said it did.... just put it as an add-on :crazyeye:
     
  9. alexman

    alexman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    778
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Fair enough, although that add-on was already included in the "There is no other restriction" part.
     
  10. a4phantom

    a4phantom Perma-newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    MN, USA
    So having any leader will prevent a MGL, but neither will prevent another SGL? Wierd.
     
  11. F1G0

    F1G0 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    I would like to focus your attention to a possibilty that I didn't seen discussed in this thread:

    Can a leader be created when an Army wins a battle ?(An army with only Elite Units inside it)

    Or does the army need to be Elite?
    If so what are the probabilities of an Army get to Veteran and then to Elite status?

    I asked this because today I made a test.

    I created a map where I would start with lots of elite units and some armies available.

    I also created a city for the Mongols with 1500 Warriors in it
    After a few minutes of the suicidal attacks of Warriors against a good number of Modern Armor or Mech Infantry
    I would get my Victorius Unit pop-up
    Which implies that I was getting the leader (I didn't see it because that would require that the 1500 completed this suicidal round which would take too long and there was no point since I establish that that map had no problem creating leaders

    So I went to the next step of the experience.

    I created 5 armies of 4 Elite Mech Infantry each.
    After some time (I declare war put my troops in position and ended the turn) of slautering the Mongol Warriors I still didn't had one victorius unit pop-up
    So after more than 1500 victories of Elite units inside an Army no Leader had been created yet,

    So I assume that the Armies that we get on a regular game can't create Great Leaders.

    Or am I wrong?
     
  12. EMan

    EMan HOFer: Milk-Cow?

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,889
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver/Phoenix Born:Hampton Court
    I think you're right....Armies CAN'T create Great Leaders. :)
     
  13. Ciceronian

    Ciceronian Latin Scholar

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    919
    Location:
    Heidelberg, Germany
    Must have been a tedious experiment! AFAIK you're right armies can never produce great leaders.
     
  14. Adjust

    Adjust Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Philly burbs
    Clearly, one of the masters of the game. I look forward to reading more from you. :goodjob:
     
  15. Dianthus

    Dianthus Small but hardy

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,814
    Location:
    Woking, UK
    Indeed, SirPleb's posts are well worth reading, all of them. Check out the Civ3 - Game of the Month and Civ3 - Hall of Fame Discussion forums, he plays and posts in both!
     
  16. Own

    Own Grasshoppah

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    5,448
    IMO i prefer to use leaders for armies, unless i could rush great library, hoover dam, or the UN. armies aren't just powerful for attacking, but the fact that ai's won't attack them can be extremely useful, especially on sid. but that's just me :) .
     
  17. Theoden

    Theoden Chieftain GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,569
    Location:
    Denmark
    I made a somewhat similar test a while ago and I can 100% confirm that armies CANNOT generate leaders. It doesn't help that the army unit itself is elite, which BTW is impossible in the standard game since the army unit itself cannot promote.
     
  18. Paul#42

    Paul#42 flyball chaser

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,474
    Location:
    Hamburg
    thinking of seaborne strategy I was wondering, if it is possible to get a leader, when an elite unit from a ship (marine, berserk) attacks a stack, wins a battle and stays on the ship.

    I guess it's impossible, when the ship is fully loaded, but how about the odds if there's a free space for a hero?

    Any experiences?
     
  19. DaveMcW

    DaveMcW Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    6,489
  20. Paul#42

    Paul#42 flyball chaser

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,474
    Location:
    Hamburg
    Wow, did not think this was possible. Thanks a lot.
     

Share This Page