1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Current Modding Limitations (post-DLL), Modding-Related Bugs and SDK Issues

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Creation & Customization' started by Pazyryk, Mar 5, 2013.

  1. Hambil

    Hambil Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,100
    Well, last time we had to generate our own wiki and wait for the source. We couldn't even do that much until we had DLC examples. My guess is, any new lua stuff they add in, is a long time down the road before we can use it.
     
  2. whoward69

    whoward69 DLL Minion

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,532
    Location:
    Near Portsmouth, UK
    Given that it took almost 6 weeks for the C++ code to 2.21 to be released after that patch, AND that we still don't have the C++ code for 2.44 (which has been out for 2 months) - unless it's been released in the last few days as I'm currently off-line from Steam - I'm not expecting the BNW C++ code in a timely fashion ... if ever. That way I'll only be pleasantly surprised when they prove me wrong :D
     
  3. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,723
    Location:
    France
    Define "a timely fashion" ? :D

    Before BNW is released, almost no chance, and I suppose there will be a patch to fix the first bugs reported after the release (how long was it after G+K ?), so I don't expect it 1-2 weeks after that first patch post BNW.

    It's also possible that vanilla & G+K DLL mods will be broken in pre-BNW patch until the source for all DLL version is released (remember patch .674, I suppose any vanilla DLL mod would have broken then if we had the source of earlier version)
     
  4. Putmalk

    Putmalk Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,623
    Location:
    New York
    Hm.

    First appreciate the responses before, didn't reply because I thought it wouldn't bring anything else to the discussion.

    How are you DLL modifying people going to handle losing access to the updated source for long stretches of time? Do you think abandoning the mod and waiting for Firaxis to release the source is going to cause you to lose subscribers?

    Taking a long break during summer (no school...) is not what I had in mind. :cry:
     
  5. whoward69

    whoward69 DLL Minion

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,532
    Location:
    Near Portsmouth, UK
    Given that there is absolutely nothing I can do to influence when/if Firaxis release the source code, I'm certainly not going to lose any sleep over it ;) (Unless I'm up all night actually *playing* BNW as I won't be able to mod it :lol:)
     
  6. Irkalla

    Irkalla ENTP POWWWEEEEEER

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,009
    Location:
    Way down around Vicksburg
    XML Entries which accept Features don't accept Fake Features. This is important, mostly because of Rivers.
     
  7. lockstep

    lockstep Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    The farm crash bug has been fixed with version 1.0.3.70.
     
  8. whoward69

    whoward69 DLL Minion

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,532
    Location:
    Near Portsmouth, UK
    No source code for hotfix 1.0.3.80 (or 1.0.3.70)
     
  9. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,073
    Location:
    America
    The SDK is supposedly going to be updated with the Fall Patch.
     
  10. whoward69

    whoward69 DLL Minion

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,532
    Location:
    Near Portsmouth, UK
    Indeed. But what about people who want to use a DLL mod and have the latest hotfixes now? After all it costs Firaxis nothing to release an SDK hotfix with the latest source at the same time as the game hotfixes as they have already QA'ed the code for the main build. It's either laziness or a "don't care" attitude on their part - I've given up caring which.
     
  11. MyopicCat

    MyopicCat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Some (all?) things in the basic game setup menu can't be modded. Perhaps it falls under "Can't modify a number of different kinds of data that are added by core game or DLC xml", but think it would be helpful if it were listed explicitly. Here is an explanation by whoward69:

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpost.php?p=13017945&postcount=3
     
  12. Pazyryk

    Pazyryk Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584
    No, my mod and others do some pretty extensive modding to the setup and advanced setup screens.

    Edit: the situation for setup modding is more complicated than I originally thought. See this thread, posts 15 and on.


    Edit: The OP is very out of date. I'd probably get around to updating it if anyone was interested. (And shows interest by posting a question here...)
     
  13. wulff420

    wulff420 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    id just like to say i would definitely be interested in an update to the op. but since i cant even figure out something simple i wouldnt know how to use all the advanced features posted but still would be good to know what all limits are. i only have vanilla, i have Mongolia and Egypt and i bought Harold Bluetooth and wonders of the ancient world with the temple of Zeus an all that but yea.
     
  14. Gort

    Gort Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,518
    I can think of at least two ways to play mods in multiplayer.
     
  15. Syrinxo

    Syrinxo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Boston
    I'd be acutely interested in an update to the OP.

    About two years ago, I designed and started building assets for a substantial conversion mod, then I realized that it would be impossible to do several things that my mod would require... IIRC, I stumbled hard when I tried to figure out how to alter gold/faith/happiness and strategic resources; basically, mess with the behavior and visuals of things that go in the top of the UI.

    That said, I still have the design that I'd very much like to revisit, if the limitations have changed enough as people learn how to get into the DLL.
     
  16. historyman101

    historyman101 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Modbuddy does not have a "import to VFS" option when editing .dds files.

    disregard post; found problem
     

Share This Page