1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Do you play with ruins on or off?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by JaGarLo, Dec 12, 2011.

?

Ruins on / off ?

  1. I play with ruins ON

    126 vote(s)
    79.7%
  2. I play with ruins OFF

    22 vote(s)
    13.9%
  3. Sometimes ON, sometimes OFF

    10 vote(s)
    6.3%
  1. The_Quasar

    The_Quasar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    814
    LOL, you too?
     
  2. bcaiko

    bcaiko Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Always on for me. I've never even considered turning them off. Goodie huts are a fun incentive for exploration.
     
  3. CYZ

    CYZ Toileteer

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,376
    Although I like exploring for ruins and the random boosts they give, I've noticed alot of benefits without them.

    For one, the early game lasts longer, all players recieve less free techs, population etcetera. This I really like, it seems the early era passes faster with ruins on and it's my favourite era so...

    Also, the boosts are too varied in power. A small amount of culture is nothing unless gotten very early, the map boost can be totally useless (yay, a map of an area I just explored...). On the other hand, getting lucky with the unit upgrade, free tech or even population/culture very early on can be pretty big.
     
  4. Beef Hammer

    Beef Hammer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Reading through this thread just made me want natural disasters in civ V.
     
  5. CaptainKapow

    CaptainKapow Immortal

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    I used to play with them off as I wanted a more stable opening to figure out good strategies and such.

    Once I got up to Immortal level I tried them on a few times and found they added fun and variation to the more boring early parts of the game.

    I always despised huts and events in Civ4 but I think that is mainly because there were some crippling negative ones that could just sewer your game. Ex: Barb spawn on first hut, or the dreaded Bermuda Triangle.
     
  6. blasto

    blasto Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    Off way more often than not. Mainly because it seems to favor the AI advantage as they always get more than I do.

    Also I almost always seem to get a bogus roll like a useless map. And then when I finally do get a good roll, like a unit upgrade, its usually not welcome. Then its usually one of my best units becoming iron dependant before I actually find iron and then my best unit becomes severely handicapped.
     
  7. Alff

    Alff Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    I got a Rifleman out of a ruin. I was playing the English and had just researched Bowman.

    Did wonders to conquer Cape Town and Florence! Tho it feels a bit stupid, lol.
     
  8. Ruler

    Ruler Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    443
    I think they should be part of Civ, they're big threat to the world, well, next to Mc Donalds of course... Anyway maybe one day we actually see Civ with good engine and all kind of natural disasters are cool, climate changing/drying, tsunami etc.
     
  9. KevinMiles90000

    KevinMiles90000 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    279
    quick combat is the only non default setting you are allowed to play with
     
  10. TPQ

    TPQ Cogito Ergo Civ

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    UK
    On. Got to give the AI a chance. On Immortal I usually get one, or two huts for me and the AIs get all the others.

    I always love getting a culture ruin and/or population run early on. Gives everything a kick start.
     
  11. davelisowski

    davelisowski Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Messages:
    335
    on, and i reload constantly until i get a tech. pop
     
  12. Nirosi

    Nirosi Hymenopus Coronatus

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Princeloverburgh, Germany
    Mostly on, because then a scout at the beginning makes a bit sense.
     
  13. FromBirth

    FromBirth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Sunderland, UK
    Are you serious, you could be missing out on some really great games that would have been fine without the tech. Do you really need it to be competitive?

    I play on, love it when I get a few good pops. Emperor level standard size maps so usually get 2-5 huts.
     
  14. apocalypse105

    apocalypse105 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,704
    On marathon I put them off on norma speed and epic I put them on.
     

Share This Page